How to Become a Surgical Technician in Illinois (2026)
Illinois employs about 3,570 surgical technicians earning a median $64,650 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Surgical Technician here means completing a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Illinois): $64,650/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Illinois: 3,570 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.78x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 4.5% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Surgical Technician Schools in Illinois
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | William Rainey Harper College | 59.2 | Contact school for pricing | $56,704 | Not reported | Yes* | 87 mi |
| 2 | Triton College | 54.9 | Contact school for pricing | $52,701 | Not reported | Yes* | 85 mi |
| 3 | Richland Community College | 53.4 | Contact school for pricing | $51,785 | 52% | Yes* | 78 mi |
| 4 | Black Hawk College | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $49,173 | 41% | Yes* | 84 mi |
| 5 | Elgin Community College | 50.2 | Contact school for pricing | $54,220 | 41% | — | 77 mi |
| 6 | Illinois Central College | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $55,058 | Not reported | Yes* | 36 mi |
| 7 | College of DuPage | 47.7 | Contact school for pricing | $55,984 | 25% | — | 73 mi |
| 8 | Prairie State College | 47.7 | Contact school for pricing | $50,647 | 20% | Yes* | 77 mi |
| 9 | Rasmussen University-Illinois | 45.8 | Contact school for pricing | $59,996 | 41% | Yes* | 87 mi |
| 10 | Stautzenberger College-Rockford Career College | 44.8 | Contact school for pricing | $37,799 | Not reported | Yes* | 86 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Illinois employs approximately 3,570 surgical technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $64,650 1. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Surgical Technician in Illinois, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST
- Exam: NBSTSA CST
- Median wage (Illinois): $64,650 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Surgical Technician in Illinois
How to become a Surgical Technician in Illinois? Complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Illinois? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect NBSTSA CST. See the licensing section below.
What do surgical technicians earn in Illinois? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in Illinois is $64,650 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $48,560 and experienced professionals can earn $91,890 or more 1.
How to Become a Surgical Technician in Illinois
- Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED.
- Complete an accredited surgical technology program. Finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program in Illinois. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass CST. Pass the NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist exam.
- Confirm state registration. Some states register surgical technologists. Confirm with the program and employer rather than assuming a statewide license everywhere.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Surgical Technician License Requirements in Illinois
Surgical technologists typically complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program and pass CST. Some states add registration.
Typical path
Complete an accredited surgical technology program.
Pass CST.
Register with the state if required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Surgical Technician Wages by Metro Area in Illinois
Surgical Technologists Wages by Metro Area in Illinois
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), surgical technologists wages in Illinois vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicago-Naperville-Elgin | 2,530 | $66,360 | $73,090 | $50,590 | $94,030 |
| St. Louis | 810 | $61,790 | $61,840 | $46,300 | $77,180 |
| Peoria | 180 | $59,470 | $63,110 | $45,860 | $74,520 |
| Rockford | 160 | $61,740 | $64,120 | $47,730 | $77,810 |
| Springfield | 130 | $62,590 | $66,080 | $50,300 | $78,890 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 110 | $60,520 | $62,340 | $51,070 | $75,690 |
| Bloomington | 80 | $68,140 | $68,170 | $48,970 | $84,500 |
| Paducah | 60 | $57,570 | $61,770 | $41,210 | $77,540 |
| Cape Girardeau | 60 | $49,880 | $51,650 | $38,100 | $67,620 |
| Kankakee | 40 | $59,940 | $58,370 | $40,900 | $69,940 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for surgical technicians in Illinois? Illinois currently employs approximately 3,570 surgical technicians 1. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Illinois? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Illinois.
How much do surgical technicians earn in Illinois compared to the national average? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in Illinois is $64,650, which is $1,820 above the national median of $62,830 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Illinois
Top local programs
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Addison, Illinois (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Algonquin, Illinois (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Alsip, Illinois (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Alton, Illinois (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Antioch, Illinois (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Arlington Heights, Illinois (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Aurora, Illinois (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Barrington, Illinois (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Bartlett, Illinois (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Batavia, Illinois (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Beach Park, Illinois (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Belleville, Illinois (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Illinois
- Best HVAC Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Illinois
- Best Plumbing Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Illinois
Explore More Trades in Illinois
- Electrician in Illinois
- Plumber in Illinois
- HVAC Technician in Illinois
- Welder in Illinois
- Carpenter in Illinois
- Solar Installation Technician in Illinois
- Auto Mechanic in Illinois
- CNC Machinist in Illinois
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Illinois
- Medical Assistant in Illinois
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |