How to Become a Surgical Technician in Mississippi (2026)
Mississippi employs about 1,110 surgical technicians earning a median $49,810 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Surgical Technician here means completing a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Mississippi): $49,810/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Mississippi: 1,110 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.26x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 4.5% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Surgical Technician Schools in Mississippi
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Itawamba Community College | 63.0 | Contact school for pricing | $41,849 | Not reported | Yes* | 121 mi |
| 2 | East Mississippi Community College | 57.7 | Contact school for pricing | $42,022 | 44% | Yes* | 58 mi |
| 3 | Hinds Community College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $40,042 | Not reported | Yes* | 65 mi |
| 4 | Holmes Community College | 53.5 | Contact school for pricing | $39,984 | Not reported | Yes* | 28 mi |
| 5 | Pearl River Community College | 52.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,603 | Not reported | Yes* | 133 mi |
| 6 | Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College | 51.3 | Contact school for pricing | $44,103 | Not reported | Yes* | 139 mi |
| 7 | Bevill State Community College | 50.6 | Contact school for pricing | $51,972 | 41% | Yes* | 148 mi |
| 8 | Meridian Community College | 50.6 | Contact school for pricing | $50,810 | Not reported | Yes* | 52 mi |
| 9 | Northwest Mississippi Community College | 47.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,368 | Not reported | Yes* | 131 mi |
| 10 | East Central Community College | 46.4 | Contact school for pricing | $36,389 | 38% | — | 32 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Mississippi employs approximately 1,110 surgical technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $49,810 1. The state’s concentration of surgical technician jobs is 1.26x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Surgical Technician in Mississippi, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST
- Exam: NBSTSA CST
- Median wage (Mississippi): $49,810 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Surgical Technician in Mississippi
How to become a Surgical Technician in Mississippi? Complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Mississippi? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect NBSTSA CST. See the licensing section below.
What do surgical technicians earn in Mississippi? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in Mississippi is $49,810 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,800 and experienced professionals can earn $66,300 or more 1.
How to Become a Surgical Technician in Mississippi
- Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED.
- Complete an accredited surgical technology program. Finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program in Mississippi. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass CST. Pass the NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist exam.
- Confirm state registration. Some states register surgical technologists. Confirm with the program and employer rather than assuming a statewide license everywhere.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Surgical Technician License Requirements in Mississippi
Surgical technologists typically complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program and pass CST. Some states add registration.
Typical path
Complete an accredited surgical technology program.
Pass CST.
Register with the state if required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Surgical Technician Wages by Metro Area in Mississippi
Surgical Technologists Wages by Metro Area in Mississippi
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), surgical technologists wages in Mississippi vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memphis | 630 | $61,150 | $60,050 | $49,390 | $77,630 |
| Jackson | 320 | $59,990 | $57,460 | $40,580 | $70,050 |
| Hattiesburg | 210 | $48,610 | $51,890 | $38,740 | $61,800 |
| Gulfport-Biloxi | 80 | $50,120 | $51,800 | $42,040 | $59,890 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for surgical technicians in Mississippi? Mississippi currently employs approximately 1,110 surgical technicians 1. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Mississippi? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Mississippi.
How much do surgical technicians earn in Mississippi compared to the national average? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in Mississippi is $49,810, which is $13,020 below the national median of $62,830 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Mississippi
Top local programs
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Bay St. Louis, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Biloxi, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Brandon, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Brookhaven, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Byram, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Canton, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Clarksdale, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Cleveland, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Clinton, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Columbus, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Corinth, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in D Iberville, Mississippi (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Mississippi
- Best HVAC Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Mississippi
- Best Plumbing Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Mississippi
Explore More Trades in Mississippi
- Electrician in Mississippi
- Plumber in Mississippi
- HVAC Technician in Mississippi
- Welder in Mississippi
- Carpenter in Mississippi
- Solar Installation Technician in Mississippi
- Auto Mechanic in Mississippi
- CNC Machinist in Mississippi
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Mississippi
- Medical Assistant in Mississippi
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |