How to Become a Surgical Technician in Nebraska (2026)

Nebraska employs about 770 surgical technicians earning a median $63,880 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Surgical Technician here means completing a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Nebraska): $63,880/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Nebraska: 770 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.99x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 4.5% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Surgical Technician Schools in Nebraska

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
171.4Contact school for pricing$49,39056%Yes*74 mi
271.0Contact school for pricing$56,77466%Yes*152 mi
369.7$7,650 - $20,272$53,28956%Yes*176 mi
460.2Contact school for pricing$52,845Not reportedYes*188 mi
557.6Contact school for pricing$47,71344%Yes*105 mi
655.6Contact school for pricing$54,27736%Yes*24 mi
750.0Contact school for pricing$51,81737%Yes*181 mi
849.0Contact school for pricing$59,99648%Yes*156 mi
948.3Contact school for pricing$51,139Not reportedYes*64 mi
1045.8Contact school for pricing$50,12131%Yes*186 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Nebraska employs approximately 770 surgical technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $63,880 1. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Surgical Technician in Nebraska, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST
  • Exam: NBSTSA CST
  • Median wage (Nebraska): $63,880 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Surgical Technician in Nebraska

How to become a Surgical Technician in Nebraska? Complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Nebraska? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect NBSTSA CST. See the licensing section below.

What do surgical technicians earn in Nebraska? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in Nebraska is $63,880 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $49,870 and experienced professionals can earn $79,350 or more 1.

How to Become a Surgical Technician in Nebraska

  1. Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED.
  2. Complete an accredited surgical technology program. Finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program in Nebraska. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass CST. Pass the NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist exam.
  4. Confirm state registration. Some states register surgical technologists. Confirm with the program and employer rather than assuming a statewide license everywhere.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Surgical Technician License Requirements in Nebraska

Surgical technologists typically complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program and pass CST. Some states add registration.

Typical path

  1. Complete an accredited surgical technology program.

  2. Pass CST.

  3. Register with the state if required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Surgical Technician Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska

Surgical Technologists Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), surgical technologists wages in Nebraska vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Omaha380$65,050$68,420$51,170$83,790
Lincoln160$65,110$65,830$53,600$75,910
Sioux City90$59,670$63,990$38,510$107,650

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for surgical technicians in Nebraska? Nebraska currently employs approximately 770 surgical technicians 1. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Nebraska? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Nebraska.

How much do surgical technicians earn in Nebraska compared to the national average? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in Nebraska is $63,880, which is $1,050 above the national median of $62,830 according to BLS data 1.

In Nebraska

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Nebraska

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)