How to Become a Surgical Technician in South Carolina (2026)
South Carolina employs about 2,680 surgical technicians earning a median $62,160 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Surgical Technician here means completing a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST.
Key Facts
- Median wage (South Carolina): $62,160/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in South Carolina: 2,680 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.54x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 4.5% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Surgical Technician Schools in South Carolina
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Aiken Technical College | 48.4 | Contact school for pricing | $54,588 | 26% | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 2 | Southeastern College-Charleston | 47.1 | Contact school for pricing | $33,941 | 68% | Yes* | 71 mi |
| 3 | Southeastern College-Charlotte | 46.8 | Contact school for pricing | $35,871 | 69% | Yes* | 98 mi |
| 4 | Piedmont Technical College | 45.7 | Contact school for pricing | $44,555 | 33% | Yes* | 85 mi |
| 5 | Augusta Technical College | 45.4 | Contact school for pricing | $43,469 | 31% | Yes* | 78 mi |
| 6 | South Piedmont Community College | 45.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,657 | 37% | Yes* | 93 mi |
| 7 | Central Carolina Technical College | 43.9 | Contact school for pricing | $45,876 | Not reported | Yes* | 26 mi |
| 8 | Midlands Technical College | 41.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,832 | 17% | Yes* | 26 mi |
| 9 | York Technical College | 40.4 | Contact school for pricing | $47,738 | Not reported | — | 84 mi |
| 10 | Florence-Darlington Technical College | 35.7 | Contact school for pricing | $44,978 | 27% | — | 64 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
South Carolina employs approximately 2,680 surgical technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $62,160 1. The state’s concentration of surgical technician jobs is 1.54x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Surgical Technician in South Carolina, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST
- Exam: NBSTSA CST
- Median wage (South Carolina): $62,160 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Surgical Technician in South Carolina
How to become a Surgical Technician in South Carolina? Complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in South Carolina? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect NBSTSA CST. See the licensing section below.
What do surgical technicians earn in South Carolina? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in South Carolina is $62,160 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,830 and experienced professionals can earn $75,210 or more 1.
How to Become a Surgical Technician in South Carolina
- Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED.
- Complete an accredited surgical technology program. Finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program in South Carolina. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass CST. Pass the NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist exam.
- Confirm state registration. Some states register surgical technologists. Confirm with the program and employer rather than assuming a statewide license everywhere.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Surgical Technician License Requirements in South Carolina
Surgical technologists typically complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program and pass CST. Some states add registration.
Typical path
Complete an accredited surgical technology program.
Pass CST.
Register with the state if required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Surgical Technician Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina
Surgical Technologists Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), surgical technologists wages in South Carolina vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia | 1,170 | $63,490 | $65,680 | $49,600 | $81,030 |
| Greenville-Anderson-Greer | 510 | $63,050 | $62,030 | $52,410 | $73,120 |
| Columbia | 440 | $61,230 | $61,500 | $50,030 | $74,290 |
| Charleston-North Charleston | 380 | $59,920 | $61,700 | $47,390 | $69,110 |
| Myrtle Beach-Conway-North Myrtle Beach | 310 | $48,790 | $52,220 | $35,220 | $75,210 |
| Spartanburg | 270 | $63,570 | $64,470 | $58,130 | $78,220 |
| Florence | 260 | $67,080 | $59,990 | $32,300 | $67,080 |
| Augusta-Richmond County | 250 | $60,300 | $61,600 | $45,800 | $80,220 |
| Hilton Head Island-Bluffton-Port Royal | 40 | $62,810 | $61,210 | $42,820 | $80,060 |
| Sumter | 40 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for surgical technicians in South Carolina? South Carolina currently employs approximately 2,680 surgical technicians 1. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in South Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in South Carolina.
How much do surgical technicians earn in South Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in South Carolina is $62,160, which is $670 below the national median of $62,830 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In South Carolina
Top local programs
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Aiken, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Anderson, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Beaufort, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Bennettsville, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Bluffton, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Camden, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Cayce, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Charleston, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Clemson, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Clinton, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Columbia, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Conway, South Carolina (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in South Carolina
- Best HVAC Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in South Carolina
- Best Plumbing Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in South Carolina
Explore More Trades in South Carolina
- Electrician in South Carolina
- Plumber in South Carolina
- HVAC Technician in South Carolina
- Welder in South Carolina
- Carpenter in South Carolina
- Solar Installation Technician in South Carolina
- Auto Mechanic in South Carolina
- CNC Machinist in South Carolina
- Certified Nursing Assistant in South Carolina
- Medical Assistant in South Carolina
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |