How to Become a Surgical Technician in Utah (2026)
Utah employs about 1,170 surgical technicians earning a median $62,720 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Surgical Technician here means completing a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Utah): $62,720/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Utah: 1,170 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.89x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 4.5% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Surgical Technician Schools in Utah
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | College of Southern Idaho | 68.2 | Contact school for pricing | $46,129 | 34% | Yes* | 183 mi |
| 2 | College of Eastern Idaho | 66.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,123 | 37% | Yes* | 193 mi |
| 3 | Uintah Basin Technical College | 59.7 | Contact school for pricing | $64,652 | 89% | — | 110 mi |
| 4 | Mountainland Technical College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $39,284 | 81% | — | 19 mi |
| 5 | Colorado Mesa University | 56.7 | Contact school for pricing | $58,601 | 41% | Yes* | 213 mi |
| 6 | San Juan College | 53.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,786 | Not reported | Yes* | 340 mi |
| 7 | Utah Tech University | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,624 | Not reported | Yes* | 261 mi |
| 8 | Salt Lake Community College | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,279 | 29% | Yes* | 3 mi |
| 9 | College of Western Idaho | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $47,903 | 29% | Yes* | 307 mi |
| 10 | Davis Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $47,706 | Not reported | — | 25 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Utah employs approximately 1,170 surgical technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $62,720 1. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Surgical Technician in Utah, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST
- Exam: NBSTSA CST
- Median wage (Utah): $62,720 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Surgical Technician in Utah
How to become a Surgical Technician in Utah? Complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Utah? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect NBSTSA CST. See the licensing section below.
What do surgical technicians earn in Utah? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in Utah is $62,720 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $45,760 and experienced professionals can earn $87,430 or more 1.
How to Become a Surgical Technician in Utah
- Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED.
- Complete an accredited surgical technology program. Finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program in Utah. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass CST. Pass the NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist exam.
- Confirm state registration. Some states register surgical technologists. Confirm with the program and employer rather than assuming a statewide license everywhere.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Surgical Technician License Requirements in Utah
Surgical technologists typically complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program and pass CST. Some states add registration.
Typical path
Complete an accredited surgical technology program.
Pass CST.
Register with the state if required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Surgical Technician Wages by Metro Area in Utah
Surgical Technologists Wages by Metro Area in Utah
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), surgical technologists wages in Utah vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake City-Murray | 470 | $65,690 | $70,380 | $45,940 | $89,620 |
| Provo-Orem-Lehi | 250 | $61,420 | $61,270 | $46,250 | $82,880 |
| Ogden | 220 | $65,440 | $65,880 | $46,000 | $100,580 |
| St. George | 70 | $68,080 | $65,840 | $45,760 | $88,140 |
| Logan | 50 | $50,290 | $56,220 | $36,600 | $78,170 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for surgical technicians in Utah? Utah currently employs approximately 1,170 surgical technicians 1. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Utah? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Utah.
How much do surgical technicians earn in Utah compared to the national average? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in Utah is $62,720, which is $110 below the national median of $62,830 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Utah
Top local programs
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Alpine, Utah (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in American Fork, Utah (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Bluffdale, Utah (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Bountiful, Utah (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Brigham City, Utah (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Cedar City, Utah (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Cedar Hills, Utah (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Centerville, Utah (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Clearfield, Utah (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Clinton, Utah (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Cottonwood Heights, Utah (2026)
- Best Surgical Tech Programs in Draper, Utah (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Utah
- Best HVAC Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Utah
- Best Plumbing Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Utah
Explore More Trades in Utah
- Electrician in Utah
- Plumber in Utah
- HVAC Technician in Utah
- Welder in Utah
- Carpenter in Utah
- Solar Installation Technician in Utah
- Auto Mechanic in Utah
- CNC Machinist in Utah
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Utah
- Medical Assistant in Utah
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |