How to Become a Professional Translator in Alabama (2026)

Alabama employs about 310 professional translators earning a median $46,130 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most professional translators train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Alabama.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Alabama): $46,130/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Alabama: 310 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.43x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 1.7% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Professional Translator Schools in Alabama

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
158.4$8,674 - $22,808$49,75949%Yes*402 mi
257.7Contact school for pricing$43,856Not reportedYes*425 mi
357.3Contact school for pricing$40,879Not reportedYes*304 mi
446.5Contact school for pricing$42,97944%Yes*182 mi
545.0Contact school for pricing$46,65737%Yes*406 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Alabama employs approximately 310 professional translators according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $46,130 1. Nationally, professional translator employment is projected to grow 1.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a professional translator in Alabama, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

Professional Translator Wages by Metro Area in Alabama

Interpreters and Translators Wages by Metro Area in Alabama

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), interpreters and translators wages in Alabama vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Birmingham100$41,470$44,750$33,050$61,050
Huntsville30$40,490$42,910$24,950$69,280
Montgomery30$45,670$52,040$36,560$80,110

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (Alabama): $46,130 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Professional Translator in Alabama

How to become a professional translator in Alabama? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for professional translators in Alabama.

How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do professional translators earn in Alabama? The median annual wage for professional translators in Alabama is $46,130 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $33,050 and experienced professionals can earn $98,660 or more 1.

How to Become a Professional Translator in Alabama

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Alabama training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Alabama that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to professional translators in Alabama before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for professional translators in Alabama? Alabama currently employs approximately 310 professional translators 1. Nationally, professional translator employment is projected to grow 1.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Alabama? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Alabama.

How much do professional translators earn in Alabama compared to the national average? The median annual wage for professional translators in Alabama is $46,130, which is $13,310 below the national median of $59,440 according to BLS data 1.

In Alabama

Explore More Trades in Alabama

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)