How to Become a Professional Translator in Idaho (2026)
Idaho employs about 300 professional translators earning a median $66,130 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most professional translators train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Idaho.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Idaho): $66,130/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Idaho: 300 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.05x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 1.7% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Professional Translator Schools in Idaho
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | De Anza College | 80.8 | Contact school for pricing | $60,322 | 68% | Yes* | 620 mi |
| 2 | Weber State University | 72.8 | Contact school for pricing | $69,883 | 45% | Yes* | 257 mi |
| 3 | Santa Rosa Junior College | 60.0 | Contact school for pricing | $64,933 | 36% | Yes* | 583 mi |
| 4 | Great Basin College | 52.3 | Contact school for pricing | $57,602 | 46% | Yes* | 248 mi |
| 5 | Community College of Aurora | 47.0 | $4,470 - $17,275 | $51,722 | 31% | Yes* | 597 mi |
| 6 | Portland Community College | 46.0 | Contact school for pricing | $55,238 | Not reported | Yes* | 403 mi |
| 7 | City College of San Francisco | 44.5 | Contact school for pricing | $60,859 | 40% | — | 611 mi |
| 8 | Reedley College | 41.6 | $1,334 - $16,881 | $42,644 | 42% | — | 591 mi |
| 9 | Laney College | 17.6 | Contact school for pricing | $50,151 | 34% | — | 601 mi |
| 10 | DHARMA REALM BUDDHIST UNIVERSITY | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 567 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Idaho employs approximately 300 professional translators according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $66,130 1. Nationally, professional translator employment is projected to grow 1.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a professional translator in Idaho, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Professional Translator Wages by Metro Area in Idaho
Interpreters and Translators Wages by Metro Area in Idaho
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), interpreters and translators wages in Idaho vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boise City | 140 | $80,250 | $79,830 | $51,230 | $101,500 |
| Idaho Falls | 60 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Idaho): $66,130 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Professional Translator in Idaho
How to become a professional translator in Idaho? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for professional translators in Idaho.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do professional translators earn in Idaho? The median annual wage for professional translators in Idaho is $66,130 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $42,740 and experienced professionals can earn $101,500 or more 1.
How to Become a Professional Translator in Idaho
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Idaho training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Idaho that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to professional translators in Idaho before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for professional translators in Idaho? Idaho currently employs approximately 300 professional translators 1. Nationally, professional translator employment is projected to grow 1.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Idaho? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Idaho.
How much do professional translators earn in Idaho compared to the national average? The median annual wage for professional translators in Idaho is $66,130, which is $6,690 above the national median of $59,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Idaho
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Idaho
- Best HVAC Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Idaho
- Best Plumbing Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Idaho
Explore More Trades in Idaho
- Electrician in Idaho
- Plumber in Idaho
- HVAC Technician in Idaho
- Welder in Idaho
- Carpenter in Idaho
- Solar Installation Technician in Idaho
- Auto Mechanic in Idaho
- CNC Machinist in Idaho
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Idaho
- Medical Assistant in Idaho
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |