How to Become a Professional Translator in Oregon (2026)
Oregon employs about 660 professional translators earning a median $66,300 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Professional Translator here means completing language training plus a portfolio or optional translator certificate; most states do not license translators. Court interpreter credentials are a different path.
Compare Professional Translator Schools in Oregon
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | De Anza College | 80.8 | $1,571 in-state / $12,596 out-of-state | $60,322 | 68% | Yes* | 535 mi |
| 2 | Weber State University | 72.8 | $6,557 in-state / $17,545 out-of-state | $69,883 | 46% | Yes* | 592 mi |
| 3 | Santa Rosa Junior College | 60.0 | $1,318 in-state / $11,308 out-of-state | $64,933 | 37% | Yes* | 456 mi |
| 4 | Great Basin College | 52.3 | $3,923 in-state / $13,883 out-of-state | $57,602 | 41% | Yes* | 446 mi |
| 5 | Portland Community College | 46.0 | $5,220 in-state / $10,440 out-of-state | $55,238 | 18% | Yes* | 30 mi |
| 6 | City College of San Francisco | 44.5 | $1,696 in-state / $14,656 out-of-state | $60,859 | 40% | — | 507 mi |
| 7 | Reedley College | 41.6 | $1,334 in-state / $10,154 out-of-state | $42,644 | 42% | — | 604 mi |
| 8 | Laney College | 17.6 | $1,258 in-state / $9,898 out-of-state | $50,151 | 31% | — | 502 mi |
| 9 | DHARMA REALM BUDDHIST UNIVERSITY | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 411 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Oregon employs approximately 660 professional translators according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $66,300 1. Nationally, professional translator employment is projected to grow 1.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Professional Translator in Oregon, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: language study, short translator course, or portfolio work (find programs)
- Typical timeline: language training plus a portfolio or optional translator certificate; most states do not license translators. Court interpreter credentials are a different path
- Median wage (Oregon): $66,300 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Professional Translator in Oregon
How to become a Professional Translator in Oregon? Complete language training plus a portfolio or optional translator certificate; most states do not license translators. Court interpreter credentials are a different path. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish language training plus a portfolio or optional translator certificate; most states do not license translators. Court interpreter credentials are a different path. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Oregon? Licensing varies. See the licensing section below for the Oregon path.
What do professional translators earn in Oregon? The median annual wage for professional translators in Oregon is $66,300 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $47,090 and experienced professionals can earn $95,770 or more 1.
How to Become a Professional Translator in Oregon
- Build language and translation skill. Complete a short translator course or assemble a translation portfolio. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Optional translator credentials. A translator certificate can help hiring. It is not a statewide occupational license.
- Do not treat court interpreting as this path. State court-interpreter credentials are a different occupation. Most states do not license translators. Do not apply to a licensing board for a translator license that does not exist.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Professional Translator License Requirements in Oregon
Most states do not license translators. The path is language skill, a portfolio, and optional translator certificates. Court interpreter credentials are a different occupation.
Typical path
Build language and translation skill.
Optional translator certificates.
Do not apply for a court-interpreter license as the translator path.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Professional Translator Wages by Metro Area in Oregon
Interpreters and Translators Wages by Metro Area in Oregon
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), interpreters and translators wages in Oregon vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro | 440 | $60,960 | $64,310 | $43,770 | $94,460 |
| Salem | 100 | $80,960 | $78,880 | $51,620 | $101,020 |
| Eugene-Springfield | 60 | $66,940 | $69,650 | $50,380 | $88,160 |
| Bend | 50 | $62,630 | $63,110 | $45,280 | $80,950 |
| Medford | 40 | $63,810 | $67,520 | $49,060 | $79,540 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for professional translators in Oregon? Oregon currently employs approximately 660 professional translators 1. Nationally, professional translator employment is projected to grow 1.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Oregon? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Oregon.
How much do professional translators earn in Oregon compared to the national average? The median annual wage for professional translators in Oregon is $66,300, which is $6,860 above the national median of $59,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Oregon
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Oregon
- Best HVAC Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Oregon
- Best Plumbing Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Oregon
Explore More Trades in Oregon
- Electrician in Oregon
- Plumber in Oregon
- HVAC Technician in Oregon
- Welder in Oregon
- Carpenter in Oregon
- Solar Installation Technician in Oregon
- Auto Mechanic in Oregon
- CNC Machinist in Oregon
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Oregon
- Medical Assistant in Oregon
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |