How to Become a Professional Translator in West Virginia (2026)
West Virginia employs about 120 professional translators (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most professional translators train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in West Virginia.
Key Facts
- Employed in West Virginia: 120 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.50x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 1.7% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Professional Translator Schools in West Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Surry Community College | 57.7 | Contact school for pricing | $43,856 | Not reported | Yes* | 160 mi |
| 2 | Alamance Community College | 50.9 | Contact school for pricing | $41,411 | Not reported | Yes* | 208 mi |
| 3 | Durham Technical Community College | 49.8 | Contact school for pricing | $57,868 | 40% | Yes* | 227 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
West Virginia employs approximately 120 professional translators according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics 1. Nationally, professional translator employment is projected to grow 1.7% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a professional translator in West Virginia, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Professional Translator Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
Interpreters and Translators Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), interpreters and translators wages in West Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 1,630 | $94,510 | $93,460 | $56,920 | $136,150 |
| Hagerstown-Martinsburg | 50 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
Quick Answers About How to Become a Professional Translator in West Virginia
How to become a professional translator in West Virginia? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for professional translators in West Virginia.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
How to Become a Professional Translator in West Virginia
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most West Virginia training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in West Virginia that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to professional translators in West Virginia before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for professional translators in West Virginia? West Virginia currently employs approximately 120 professional translators 1. Nationally, professional translator employment is projected to grow 1.7% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in West Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in West Virginia.
Related guides
In West Virginia
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in West Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in West Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in West Virginia
Explore More Trades in West Virginia
- Electrician in West Virginia
- Plumber in West Virginia
- HVAC Technician in West Virginia
- Welder in West Virginia
- Carpenter in West Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in West Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in West Virginia
- CNC Machinist in West Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in West Virginia
- Medical Assistant in West Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |