How to Become a Travel Agent in Florida (2026)

Florida employs about 9,430 travel agents earning a median $50,060 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Travel Agent here means completing seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Florida): $50,060/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Florida: 9,430 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 2.68x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 2.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Travel Agent Schools in Florida

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
155.3Contact school for pricing$57,46430%Yes*725 mi
255.0Contact school for pricing$50,46929%Yes*447 mi
354.4Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported152 mi
454.3Contact school for pricing$47,299Not reportedYes*436 mi
553.6Contact school for pricing$44,49038%Yes*489 mi
653.6Contact school for pricing$40,042Not reportedYes*610 mi
751.3Contact school for pricing$44,103Not reportedYes*498 mi
847.9Contact school for pricing$40,96446%Yes*438 mi
946.8Contact school for pricing$37,10438%Yes*300 mi
1046.5Contact school for pricing$42,97944%Yes*347 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Florida employs approximately 9,430 travel agents according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $50,060 1. The state’s concentration of travel agent jobs is 2.68x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, travel agent employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Travel Agent in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: host-agency or school training (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential
  • Exam: seller-of-travel registration where required
  • Median wage (Florida): $50,060 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Travel Agent in Florida

How to become a Travel Agent in Florida? Complete seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential. Apply through the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Florida? Yes. Florida typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.

What do travel agents earn in Florida? The median annual wage for travel agents in Florida is $50,060 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $35,060 and experienced professionals can earn $77,970 or more 1.

How to Become a Travel Agent in Florida

  1. Get product and GDS training. Most agents train through a host agency or a short program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  2. Register as a seller of travel only where the state requires it. Some states register sellers of travel. Do not treat a travel-insurance producer license as the travel-agent path.
  3. Optional industry credentials. The Travel Institute and similar credentials are optional.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Travel Agent License Requirements in Florida

Travel agents may need seller-of-travel registration in some states. A Department of Insurance travel-insurance license is not a travel-agent credential.

Typical path

  1. Complete host-agency or school training.

  2. Register as a seller of travel if Florida requires it.

  3. Do not use a travel-insurance producer row as the primary license.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Travel Agent Wages by Metro Area in Florida

Travel Agents Wages by Metro Area in Florida

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), travel agents wages in Florida vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach4,560$50,720$55,940$36,610$78,190
Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford2,190$48,680$54,550$35,580$77,970
Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater620$47,120$51,690$27,890$76,450
Jacksonville380$50,590$56,870$35,220$77,330
Naples-Marco Island130$57,720$59,780$31,870$92,150
Cape Coral-Fort Myers120$50,280$52,160$27,900$73,570
Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin100$49,200$52,850$31,220$76,300
Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach100$49,420$50,530$31,650$71,080
North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota80$44,580$46,460$28,280$66,300
Lakeland-Winter Haven70$47,990$54,130$34,590$80,380
Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent70$50,520$52,630$39,360$70,620
Panama City-Panama City Beach50$44,950$50,580$27,040$72,980
Port St. Lucie50$50,010$54,860$29,410$73,840
Gainesville30$45,300$53,030$38,570$76,270

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for travel agents in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 9,430 travel agents 1. Nationally, travel agent employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a travel agent in Florida with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.

How much do travel agents earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for travel agents in Florida is $50,060, which is $1,610 above the national median of $48,450 according to BLS data 1.

In Florida

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Florida

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)