How to Become a Travel Agent in Idaho (2026)
Idaho employs about 220 travel agents earning a median $48,110 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Travel Agent here means completing seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Idaho): $48,110/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Idaho: 220 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.73x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Travel Agent Schools in Idaho
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Highline College | 68.6 | $4,772 - $18,812 | $59,261 | 37% | Yes* | 424 mi |
| 2 | Edmonds College | 67.5 | $4,810 - $20,062 | $52,875 | 31% | Yes* | 439 mi |
| 3 | Butte College | 67.2 | Contact school for pricing | $51,432 | 38% | Yes* | 484 mi |
| 4 | Los Medanos College | 62.8 | Contact school for pricing | $59,523 | 40% | Yes* | 576 mi |
| 5 | West Los Angeles College | 59.2 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 742 mi |
| 6 | Colorado Mountain College | 52.3 | $2,616 - $14,799 | $55,406 | 27% | Yes* | 501 mi |
| 7 | College of Southern Nevada | 46.6 | Contact school for pricing | $51,080 | 19% | Yes* | 566 mi |
| 8 | City College of San Francisco | 44.5 | Contact school for pricing | $60,859 | 40% | — | 611 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Idaho employs approximately 220 travel agents according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $48,110 1. Nationally, travel agent employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Travel Agent in Idaho, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: host-agency or school training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential
- Exam: seller-of-travel registration where required
- Median wage (Idaho): $48,110 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Travel Agent in Idaho
How to become a Travel Agent in Idaho? Complete seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential. Apply through the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Idaho? Yes. Idaho typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do travel agents earn in Idaho? The median annual wage for travel agents in Idaho is $48,110 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $28,520 and experienced professionals can earn $84,070 or more 1.
How to Become a Travel Agent in Idaho
- Get product and GDS training. Most agents train through a host agency or a short program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Register as a seller of travel only where the state requires it. Some states register sellers of travel. Do not treat a travel-insurance producer license as the travel-agent path.
- Optional industry credentials. The Travel Institute and similar credentials are optional.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Travel Agent License Requirements in Idaho
Travel agents may need seller-of-travel registration in some states. A Department of Insurance travel-insurance license is not a travel-agent credential.
Typical path
Complete host-agency or school training.
Register as a seller of travel if Idaho requires it.
Do not use a travel-insurance producer row as the primary license.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Travel Agent Wages by Metro Area in Idaho
Travel Agents Wages by Metro Area in Idaho
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), travel agents wages in Idaho vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boise City | 150 | $48,110 | $51,260 | $29,990 | $88,140 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for travel agents in Idaho? Idaho currently employs approximately 220 travel agents 1. Nationally, travel agent employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a travel agent in Idaho with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Idaho? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Idaho.
How much do travel agents earn in Idaho compared to the national average? The median annual wage for travel agents in Idaho is $48,110, which is $340 below the national median of $48,450 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Idaho
Top local programs
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Boise, Idaho (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Caldwell, Idaho (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Coeur D Alene, Idaho (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Eagle, Idaho (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Hailey, Idaho (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Idaho (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Idaho Falls, Idaho (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Lewiston, Idaho (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Meridian, Idaho (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Moscow, Idaho (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Nampa, Idaho (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Post Falls, Idaho (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Idaho
- Best HVAC Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Idaho
- Best Plumbing Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Idaho
Explore More Trades in Idaho
- Electrician in Idaho
- Plumber in Idaho
- HVAC Technician in Idaho
- Welder in Idaho
- Carpenter in Idaho
- Solar Installation Technician in Idaho
- Auto Mechanic in Idaho
- CNC Machinist in Idaho
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Idaho
- Medical Assistant in Idaho
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |