How to Become a Travel Agent in Oklahoma (2026)
Oklahoma employs about 600 travel agents earning a median $36,980 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Travel Agent here means completing seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Oklahoma): $36,980/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Oklahoma: 600 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.99x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Travel Agent Schools in Oklahoma
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tarrant County College District | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $50,928 | 29% | Yes* | 213 mi |
| 2 | Dallas College | 60.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 211 mi |
| 3 | Arkansas Tech University | 58.4 | $8,674 - $22,808 | $49,759 | 49% | Yes* | 218 mi |
| 4 | St Philip's College | 55.4 | $3,412 - $11,985 | $52,292 | 28% | Yes* | 451 mi |
| 5 | Hinds Community College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $40,042 | Not reported | Yes* | 448 mi |
| 6 | Houston Community College | 46.4 | Contact school for pricing | $50,591 | 17% | Yes* | 430 mi |
| 7 | Butler Community College | 44.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,569 | 31% | Yes* | 138 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Oklahoma employs approximately 600 travel agents according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $36,980 1. Nationally, travel agent employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Travel Agent in Oklahoma, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: host-agency or school training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential
- Exam: seller-of-travel registration where required
- Median wage (Oklahoma): $36,980 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Travel Agent in Oklahoma
How to become a Travel Agent in Oklahoma? Complete seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential. Apply through the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Oklahoma? Yes. Oklahoma typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do travel agents earn in Oklahoma? The median annual wage for travel agents in Oklahoma is $36,980 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $21,120 and experienced professionals can earn $56,020 or more 1.
How to Become a Travel Agent in Oklahoma
- Get product and GDS training. Most agents train through a host agency or a short program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Register as a seller of travel only where the state requires it. Some states register sellers of travel. Do not treat a travel-insurance producer license as the travel-agent path.
- Optional industry credentials. The Travel Institute and similar credentials are optional.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Travel Agent License Requirements in Oklahoma
Travel agents may need seller-of-travel registration in some states. A Department of Insurance travel-insurance license is not a travel-agent credential.
Typical path
Complete host-agency or school training.
Register as a seller of travel if Oklahoma requires it.
Do not use a travel-insurance producer row as the primary license.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Travel Agent Wages by Metro Area in Oklahoma
Travel Agents Wages by Metro Area in Oklahoma
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), travel agents wages in Oklahoma vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oklahoma City | 320 | $21,120 | $31,150 | $21,120 | $50,680 |
| Tulsa | 190 | $46,050 | $46,290 | $33,120 | $57,370 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for travel agents in Oklahoma? Oklahoma currently employs approximately 600 travel agents 1. Nationally, travel agent employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a travel agent in Oklahoma with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Oklahoma? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Oklahoma.
How much do travel agents earn in Oklahoma compared to the national average? The median annual wage for travel agents in Oklahoma is $36,980, which is $11,470 below the national median of $48,450 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Oklahoma
Top local programs
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Ada, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Altus, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Ardmore, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Bartlesville, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Bethany, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Bixby, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Chickasha, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Choctaw, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Claremore, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Del City, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Duncan, Oklahoma (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Oklahoma
- Best HVAC Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Oklahoma
- Best Plumbing Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Oklahoma
Explore More Trades in Oklahoma
- Electrician in Oklahoma
- Plumber in Oklahoma
- HVAC Technician in Oklahoma
- Welder in Oklahoma
- Carpenter in Oklahoma
- Solar Installation Technician in Oklahoma
- Auto Mechanic in Oklahoma
- CNC Machinist in Oklahoma
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Oklahoma
- Medical Assistant in Oklahoma
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |