How to Become a Travel Agent in Tennessee (2026)
Tennessee employs about 540 travel agents earning a median $55,640 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Travel Agent here means completing seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Tennessee): $55,640/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Tennessee: 540 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.47x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Travel Agent Schools in Tennessee
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Arkansas Tech University | 58.4 | $8,674 - $22,808 | $49,759 | 49% | Yes* | 330 mi |
| 2 | Sinclair Community College | 55.7 | Contact school for pricing | $48,980 | 36% | Yes* | 324 mi |
| 3 | BridgeValley Community & Technical College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | $57,464 | 30% | Yes* | 357 mi |
| 4 | Gwinnett Technical College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $50,469 | 29% | Yes* | 220 mi |
| 5 | Athens Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,299 | Not reported | Yes* | 255 mi |
| 6 | Georgia Northwestern Technical College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $44,490 | 38% | Yes* | 160 mi |
| 7 | Hinds Community College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $40,042 | Not reported | Yes* | 300 mi |
| 8 | Atlanta Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $40,964 | 46% | Yes* | 216 mi |
| 9 | Albany Technical College | 46.8 | Contact school for pricing | $37,104 | 38% | Yes* | 340 mi |
| 10 | Central Georgia Technical College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,979 | 44% | Yes* | 303 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Tennessee employs approximately 540 travel agents according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $55,640 1. Nationally, travel agent employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Travel Agent in Tennessee, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: host-agency or school training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential
- Exam: seller-of-travel registration where required
- Median wage (Tennessee): $55,640 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Travel Agent in Tennessee
How to become a Travel Agent in Tennessee? Complete seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential. Apply through the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish seller-of-travel registration where the state has one, plus employer or host-agency training. Travel-insurance producer licenses are a different credential. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Tennessee? Yes. Tennessee typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do travel agents earn in Tennessee? The median annual wage for travel agents in Tennessee is $55,640 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $42,400 and experienced professionals can earn $69,180 or more 1.
How to Become a Travel Agent in Tennessee
- Get product and GDS training. Most agents train through a host agency or a short program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Register as a seller of travel only where the state requires it. Some states register sellers of travel. Do not treat a travel-insurance producer license as the travel-agent path.
- Optional industry credentials. The Travel Institute and similar credentials are optional.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Travel Agent License Requirements in Tennessee
Travel agents may need seller-of-travel registration in some states. A Department of Insurance travel-insurance license is not a travel-agent credential.
Typical path
Complete host-agency or school training.
Register as a seller of travel if Tennessee requires it.
Do not use a travel-insurance producer row as the primary license.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Travel Agent Wages by Metro Area in Tennessee
Travel Agents Wages by Metro Area in Tennessee
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), travel agents wages in Tennessee vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nashville-Davidson--Murfreesboro--Franklin | 260 | $59,820 | $57,670 | $46,150 | $70,090 |
| Knoxville | 50 | $46,450 | $51,370 | $39,840 | $62,880 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for travel agents in Tennessee? Tennessee currently employs approximately 540 travel agents 1. Nationally, travel agent employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a travel agent in Tennessee with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Tennessee? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Tennessee.
How much do travel agents earn in Tennessee compared to the national average? The median annual wage for travel agents in Tennessee is $55,640, which is $7,190 above the national median of $48,450 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Tennessee
Top local programs
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Arlington, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Athens, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Atoka, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Bartlett, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Brentwood, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Bristol, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Chattanooga, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Clarksville, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Cleveland, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Clinton, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Collegedale, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Travel Agent Programs in Collierville, Tennessee (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Tennessee (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Tennessee
- Best HVAC Schools in Tennessee (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Tennessee
- Best Plumbing Schools in Tennessee (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Tennessee
Explore More Trades in Tennessee
- Electrician in Tennessee
- Plumber in Tennessee
- HVAC Technician in Tennessee
- Welder in Tennessee
- Carpenter in Tennessee
- Solar Installation Technician in Tennessee
- Auto Mechanic in Tennessee
- CNC Machinist in Tennessee
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Tennessee
- Medical Assistant in Tennessee
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |