How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Alabama (2026)
Alabama employs about 36,650 CDL truck drivers earning a median $52,120 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a CDL Truck Driver here means completing FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years, then applying through Alabama Law Enforcement Agency - Driver License Division.
Compare CDL Truck Driver Schools in Alabama
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Northwest Florida State College | 67.0 | Contact school for pricing | $52,556 | 41% | Yes* | 158 mi |
| 2 | Pensacola State College | 61.5 | Contact school for pricing | $45,937 | Not reported | Yes* | 163 mi |
| 3 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 148 mi |
| 4 | South Georgia Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $40,852 | Not reported | Yes* | 158 mi |
| 5 | Georgia Northwestern Technical College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $44,490 | 38% | Yes* | 135 mi |
| 6 | Chattahoochee Technical College | 52.1 | Contact school for pricing | $45,209 | Not reported | Yes* | 151 mi |
| 7 | West Georgia Technical College | 51.0 | Contact school for pricing | $43,835 | 33% | Yes* | 111 mi |
| 8 | Bevill State Community College | 50.6 | Contact school for pricing | $51,972 | 41% | Yes* | 75 mi |
| 9 | Meridian Community College | 50.6 | Contact school for pricing | $50,810 | Not reported | Yes* | 117 mi |
| 10 | Atlanta Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $40,964 | 46% | Yes* | 151 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Alabama employs approximately 36,650 CDL truck drivers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $52,120 1. The state’s concentration of cdl truck driver jobs is 1.31x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 237,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CDL Truck Driver in Alabama, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: ELDT from a Training Provider Registry school (find programs)
- Typical timeline: FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years
- Licensing authority: Alabama Law Enforcement Agency - Driver License Division
- Exam: state CDL skills test
- Median wage (Alabama): $52,120 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Alabama
How to become a CDL Truck Driver in Alabama? Complete FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Apply through Alabama Law Enforcement Agency - Driver License Division.
How long does it take? Most people finish FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Alabama Law Enforcement Agency - Driver License Division.
Do I need a license in Alabama? Yes. Alabama credentials this role through Alabama Law Enforcement Agency - Driver License Division 3. See the licensing section below.
What do CDL truck drivers earn in Alabama? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Alabama is $52,120 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,240 and experienced professionals can earn $77,620 or more 1.
How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Alabama
- Meet age, record, and medical rules. Interstate CDL driving is generally 21 and up; many states allow intrastate CDL at 18. Pass a DOT medical exam from an NRCME examiner.
- Complete FMCSA ELDT. Take Entry-Level Driver Training from a school on the FMCSA Training Provider Registry. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Get a CLP and pass the skills test. Earn a commercial learner’s permit, practice, then pass the skills test at the state driver-license office.
- Receive the CDL and endorsements. The state issues the CDL. Add endorsements the job needs. Confirm current rules with the state DMV, not a parent transportation agency homepage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
CDL Truck Driver License Requirements in Alabama
CDL truck drivers in Alabama complete FMCSA ELDT, pass a DOT medical exam, and earn a state-issued CDL. This is a weeks-long path, not a multi-year apprenticeship. See Alabama Law Enforcement Agency - Driver License Division 3.
Typical path
Meet age, record, and DOT medical rules.
Complete ELDT on the Training Provider Registry.
Get a CLP and pass the skills test.
Receive the CDL and needed endorsements from the state DMV.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Alabama Law Enforcement Agency - Driver License Division before you enroll.
CDL Truck Driver Wages by Metro Area in Alabama
Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers Wages by Metro Area in Alabama
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers wages in Alabama vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Birmingham | 9,170 | $54,460 | $56,600 | $38,370 | $77,460 |
| Mobile | 3,510 | $51,010 | $55,630 | $37,960 | $75,980 |
| Huntsville | 2,570 | $56,690 | $58,190 | $38,240 | $78,160 |
| Montgomery | 2,540 | $54,860 | $57,100 | $37,340 | $81,280 |
| Dothan | 1,640 | $61,900 | $59,910 | $38,550 | $74,820 |
| Tuscaloosa | 1,440 | $50,190 | $54,280 | $38,220 | $75,350 |
| Decatur | 1,420 | $59,390 | $60,530 | $41,920 | $80,170 |
| Columbus | 1,180 | $47,570 | $51,790 | $36,550 | $72,320 |
| Auburn-Opelika | 1,090 | $49,210 | $54,540 | $38,830 | $78,020 |
| Daphne-Fairhope-Foley | 990 | $47,560 | $51,770 | $36,810 | $74,350 |
| Florence-Muscle Shoals | 830 | $48,140 | $50,780 | $35,680 | $71,550 |
| Anniston-Oxford | 680 | $50,550 | $54,870 | $38,430 | $71,200 |
| Gadsden | 540 | $54,410 | $55,100 | $37,350 | $73,290 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for CDL truck drivers in Alabama? Alabama currently employs approximately 36,650 CDL truck drivers 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cdl truck driver in Alabama with an out-of-state license? Contact the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency - Driver License Division for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Alabama? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Alabama.
How much do CDL truck drivers earn in Alabama compared to the national average? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Alabama is $52,120, which is $5,320 below the national median of $57,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Alabama
Top local programs
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Alabama (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Alabaster, Alabama (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Albertville, Alabama (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Auburn, Alabama (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Bessemer, Alabama (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Birmingham, Alabama (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Calera, Alabama (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Center Point, Alabama (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Chelsea, Alabama (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Decatur, Alabama (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Dothan, Alabama (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Gulf Shores, Alabama (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Alabama (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Alabama
- Best HVAC Schools in Alabama (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Alabama
- Best Plumbing Schools in Alabama (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Alabama
Explore More Trades in Alabama
- Electrician in Alabama
- Plumber in Alabama
- HVAC Technician in Alabama
- Welder in Alabama
- Carpenter in Alabama
- Solar Installation Technician in Alabama
- Auto Mechanic in Alabama
- CNC Machinist in Alabama
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Alabama
- Medical Assistant in Alabama
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Alabama Law Enforcement Agency - Driver License Division - Licensing Information: http://www.alea.gov/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |