How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Florida (2026)
Florida employs about 112,920 CDL truck drivers earning a median $50,640 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a CDL Truck Driver here means completing FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years, then applying through Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Florida): $50,640/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Florida: 112,920 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.86x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 4.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
- Licensing/credentialing body: Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare CDL Truck Driver Schools in Florida
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Treasure Coast Technical College | 73.2 | Contact school for pricing | $53,449 | Not reported | — | 72 mi |
| 2 | Indian River State College | 68.6 | Contact school for pricing | $47,615 | 44% | Yes* | 80 mi |
| 3 | Marion Technical College | 68.1 | Contact school for pricing | $38,674 | 76% | Yes* | 98 mi |
| 4 | Sheridan Technical College | 64.6 | Contact school for pricing | $37,703 | 70% | Yes* | 152 mi |
| 5 | Palm Beach State College | 62.9 | Contact school for pricing | $48,635 | Not reported | Yes* | 126 mi |
| 6 | Miami Dade College | 62.2 | Contact school for pricing | $49,323 | 45% | Yes* | 167 mi |
| 7 | Flagler Technical College | 61.4 | Contact school for pricing | $24,972 | 85% | — | 114 mi |
| 8 | North Florida Technical College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 74% | — | 148 mi |
| 9 | Miami Lakes Educational Center and Technical College | 49.6 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 156 mi |
| 10 | Pinellas Technical College-St. Petersburg | 42.2 | Contact school for pricing | $40,318 | Not reported | Yes* | 68 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Florida employs approximately 112,920 CDL truck drivers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $50,640 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 237,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CDL Truck Driver in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: ELDT from a Training Provider Registry school (find programs)
- Typical timeline: FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years
- Licensing authority: Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
- Exam: state CDL skills test
- Median wage (Florida): $50,640 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Florida
How to become a CDL Truck Driver in Florida? Complete FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Apply through Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
How long does it take? Most people finish FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
Do I need a license in Florida? Yes. Florida credentials this role through Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 3. See the licensing section below.
What do CDL truck drivers earn in Florida? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Florida is $50,640 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $37,700 and experienced professionals can earn $74,330 or more 1.
How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Florida
- Meet age, record, and medical rules. Interstate CDL driving is generally 21 and up; many states allow intrastate CDL at 18. Pass a DOT medical exam from an NRCME examiner.
- Complete FMCSA ELDT. Take Entry-Level Driver Training from a school on the FMCSA Training Provider Registry. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Get a CLP and pass the skills test. Earn a commercial learner’s permit, practice, then pass the skills test at the state driver-license office.
- Receive the CDL and endorsements. The state issues the CDL. Add endorsements the job needs. Confirm current rules with the state DMV, not a parent transportation agency homepage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
CDL Truck Driver License Requirements in Florida
CDL truck drivers in Florida complete FMCSA ELDT, pass a DOT medical exam, and earn a state-issued CDL. This is a weeks-long path, not a multi-year apprenticeship. See Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 3.
Typical path
Meet age, record, and DOT medical rules.
Complete ELDT on the Training Provider Registry.
Get a CLP and pass the skills test.
Receive the CDL and needed endorsements from the state DMV.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles before you enroll.
CDL Truck Driver Wages by Metro Area in Florida
Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers Wages by Metro Area in Florida
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers wages in Florida vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach | 29,060 | $51,580 | $56,080 | $38,270 | $75,140 |
| Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater | 15,840 | $50,560 | $54,470 | $38,850 | $72,770 |
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford | 15,420 | $50,250 | $55,100 | $37,910 | $74,940 |
| Jacksonville | 13,100 | $55,630 | $57,080 | $38,620 | $78,160 |
| Lakeland-Winter Haven | 7,820 | $57,090 | $58,030 | $39,560 | $80,990 |
| Cape Coral-Fort Myers | 3,050 | $48,950 | $51,990 | $38,120 | $64,600 |
| North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota | 2,930 | $50,890 | $54,070 | $38,750 | $70,360 |
| Ocala | 2,230 | $51,490 | $54,910 | $36,700 | $81,460 |
| Port St. Lucie | 2,060 | $48,590 | $52,430 | $38,410 | $66,500 |
| Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach | 1,910 | $47,660 | $51,740 | $34,890 | $64,580 |
| Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent | 1,710 | $47,950 | $49,670 | $35,380 | $62,900 |
| Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville | 1,690 | $48,460 | $50,550 | $28,000 | $69,060 |
| Gainesville | 1,370 | $48,930 | $51,850 | $35,960 | $65,930 |
| Naples-Marco Island | 1,340 | $49,520 | $53,340 | $37,510 | $66,170 |
| Tallahassee | 1,260 | $46,470 | $50,320 | $36,920 | $65,810 |
| Panama City-Panama City Beach | 890 | $47,610 | $50,580 | $35,620 | $63,930 |
| Wildwood-The Villages | 840 | $47,180 | $47,900 | $34,900 | $63,350 |
| Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin | 640 | $47,940 | $49,020 | $35,520 | $62,160 |
| Punta Gorda | 570 | $46,780 | $48,810 | $35,020 | $62,620 |
| Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor | 350 | $48,410 | $49,340 | $34,710 | $61,960 |
| Homosassa Springs | 240 | $45,750 | $45,860 | $34,220 | $56,690 |
| Sebring | 230 | $44,930 | $47,530 | $33,810 | $60,320 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for CDL truck drivers in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 112,920 CDL truck drivers 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cdl truck driver in Florida with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.
How much do CDL truck drivers earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Florida is $50,640, which is $6,800 below the national median of $57,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Florida
Top local programs
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Alachua, Florida (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Altamonte Springs, Florida (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Anna Maria, Florida (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Apalachicola, Florida (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Apopka, Florida (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Arcadia, Florida (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Archer, Florida (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Astatula, Florida (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Atlantic Beach, Florida (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Atlantis, Florida (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Auburndale, Florida (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Aventura, Florida (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Florida
- Best HVAC Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Florida
- Best Plumbing Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Florida
Explore More Trades in Florida
- Electrician in Florida
- Plumber in Florida
- HVAC Technician in Florida
- Welder in Florida
- Carpenter in Florida
- Solar Installation Technician in Florida
- Auto Mechanic in Florida
- CNC Machinist in Florida
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Florida
- Medical Assistant in Florida
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles - Licensing Information: http://www.hsmv.state.fl.us/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |