How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Georgia (2026)
Georgia employs about 74,840 CDL truck drivers earning a median $57,050 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a CDL Truck Driver here means completing FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years, then applying through Georgia State Board of Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers and Used Motor Vehicle Parts Dealers.
Compare CDL Truck Driver Schools in Georgia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gwinnett Technical College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $50,469 | 29% | Yes* | 72 mi |
| 2 | Athens Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,299 | Not reported | Yes* | 81 mi |
| 3 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 31 mi |
| 4 | South Georgia Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $40,852 | Not reported | Yes* | 61 mi |
| 5 | Chattahoochee Technical College | 52.1 | Contact school for pricing | $45,209 | Not reported | Yes* | 78 mi |
| 6 | West Georgia Technical College | 51.0 | Contact school for pricing | $43,835 | 33% | Yes* | 90 mi |
| 7 | Atlanta Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $40,964 | 46% | Yes* | 61 mi |
| 8 | Columbus Technical College | 47.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,818 | 24% | Yes* | 65 mi |
| 9 | Oconee Fall Line Technical College | 46.8 | $3,380 - $24,902 | $37,265 | 54% | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 10 | Albany Technical College | 46.8 | Contact school for pricing | $37,104 | 38% | Yes* | 96 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Georgia employs approximately 74,840 CDL truck drivers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $57,050 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 237,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CDL Truck Driver in Georgia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: ELDT from a Training Provider Registry school (find programs)
- Typical timeline: FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years
- Licensing authority: Georgia State Board of Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers and Used Motor Vehicle Parts Dealers
- Exam: state CDL skills test
- Median wage (Georgia): $57,050 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Georgia
How to become a CDL Truck Driver in Georgia? Complete FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Apply through Georgia State Board of Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers and Used Motor Vehicle Parts Dealers.
How long does it take? Most people finish FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Georgia State Board of Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers and Used Motor Vehicle Parts Dealers.
Do I need a license in Georgia? Yes. Georgia credentials this role through Georgia State Board of Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers and Used Motor Vehicle Parts Dealers 3. See the licensing section below.
What do CDL truck drivers earn in Georgia? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Georgia is $57,050 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,150 and experienced professionals can earn $77,900 or more 1.
How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Georgia
- Meet age, record, and medical rules. Interstate CDL driving is generally 21 and up; many states allow intrastate CDL at 18. Pass a DOT medical exam from an NRCME examiner.
- Complete FMCSA ELDT. Take Entry-Level Driver Training from a school on the FMCSA Training Provider Registry. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Get a CLP and pass the skills test. Earn a commercial learner’s permit, practice, then pass the skills test at the state driver-license office.
- Receive the CDL and endorsements. The state issues the CDL. Add endorsements the job needs. Confirm current rules with the state DMV, not a parent transportation agency homepage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
CDL Truck Driver License Requirements in Georgia
CDL truck drivers in Georgia complete FMCSA ELDT, pass a DOT medical exam, and earn a state-issued CDL. This is a weeks-long path, not a multi-year apprenticeship. See Georgia State Board of Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers and Used Motor Vehicle Parts Dealers 3.
Typical path
Meet age, record, and DOT medical rules.
Complete ELDT on the Training Provider Registry.
Get a CLP and pass the skills test.
Receive the CDL and needed endorsements from the state DMV.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Georgia State Board of Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers and Used Motor Vehicle Parts Dealers before you enroll.
CDL Truck Driver Wages by Metro Area in Georgia
Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers Wages by Metro Area in Georgia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers wages in Georgia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell | 41,830 | $59,100 | $59,400 | $40,900 | $77,750 |
| Savannah | 4,410 | $58,930 | $58,070 | $38,750 | $76,610 |
| Chattanooga | 4,370 | $57,440 | $56,740 | $39,440 | $74,730 |
| Augusta-Richmond County | 3,250 | $47,920 | $53,370 | $37,240 | $75,390 |
| Gainesville | 2,170 | $56,770 | $60,670 | $39,670 | $87,670 |
| Dalton | 1,540 | $53,760 | $54,810 | $38,160 | $73,050 |
| Albany | 1,190 | $57,050 | $53,800 | $37,340 | $70,660 |
| Columbus | 1,180 | $47,570 | $51,790 | $36,550 | $72,320 |
| Valdosta | 1,110 | $47,880 | $52,340 | $36,570 | $76,270 |
| Macon-Bibb County | 1,100 | $50,190 | $53,880 | $37,450 | $75,840 |
| Athens-Clarke County | 880 | $54,190 | $58,930 | $37,310 | $99,630 |
| Brunswick-St. Simons | 510 | $49,980 | $53,730 | $37,360 | $76,470 |
| Warner Robins | 490 | $50,990 | $53,390 | $38,210 | $73,670 |
| Rome | 450 | $50,960 | $51,810 | $34,540 | $74,560 |
| Hinesville | 180 | $49,220 | $52,830 | $37,810 | $77,920 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for CDL truck drivers in Georgia? Georgia currently employs approximately 74,840 CDL truck drivers 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cdl truck driver in Georgia with an out-of-state license? Contact the Georgia State Board of Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers and Used Motor Vehicle Parts Dealers for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Georgia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Georgia.
How much do CDL truck drivers earn in Georgia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Georgia is $57,050, which is $390 below the national median of $57,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Georgia
Top local programs
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Acworth, Georgia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Albany, Georgia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Alpharetta, Georgia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Americus, Georgia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Athens, Georgia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Atlanta, Georgia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Augusta, Georgia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Bainbridge, Georgia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Braselton, Georgia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Brookhaven, Georgia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Brunswick, Georgia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Buford, Georgia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Georgia
- Best HVAC Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Georgia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Georgia
Explore More Trades in Georgia
- Electrician in Georgia
- Plumber in Georgia
- HVAC Technician in Georgia
- Welder in Georgia
- Carpenter in Georgia
- Solar Installation Technician in Georgia
- Auto Mechanic in Georgia
- CNC Machinist in Georgia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Georgia
- Medical Assistant in Georgia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Georgia State Board of Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers and Used Motor Vehicle Parts Dealers - Licensing Information: https://sos.ga.gov/index.php/licensing ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |