How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Kentucky (2026)
Kentucky employs about 31,760 CDL truck drivers earning a median $56,340 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a CDL Truck Driver here means completing FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years, then applying through Transportation Cabinet - Division of Driver Licensing.
Compare CDL Truck Driver Schools in Kentucky
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Butler Technology and Career Development Schools | 69.7 | Contact school for pricing | $59,443 | 81% | — | 127 mi |
| 2 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland | 64.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 125 mi |
| 3 | Madisonville Community College | 55.9 | Contact school for pricing | $54,485 | 52% | Yes* | 122 mi |
| 4 | Gateway Community and Technical College | 55.7 | Contact school for pricing | $47,990 | 53% | Yes* | 95 mi |
| 5 | Owensboro Community and Technical College | 55.4 | Contact school for pricing | $44,854 | 52% | Yes* | 96 mi |
| 6 | Elizabethtown Community and Technical College | 55.0 | $4,728 - $14,212 | $43,584 | 54% | Yes* | 30 mi |
| 7 | Maysville Community and Technical College | 52.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,970 | 54% | Yes* | 103 mi |
| 8 | Bluegrass Community and Technical College | 51.0 | Contact school for pricing | $48,181 | Not reported | Yes* | 49 mi |
| 9 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Oneida-Huntsville | 50.3 | Contact school for pricing | $41,875 | Not reported | — | 102 mi |
| 10 | Jefferson Community and Technical College | 49.7 | $4,808 - $14,457 | $50,106 | 33% | Yes* | 42 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Kentucky employs approximately 31,760 CDL truck drivers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $56,340 1. The state’s concentration of cdl truck driver jobs is 1.20x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 237,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CDL Truck Driver in Kentucky, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: ELDT from a Training Provider Registry school (find programs)
- Typical timeline: FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years
- Licensing authority: Transportation Cabinet - Division of Driver Licensing
- Exam: state CDL skills test
- Median wage (Kentucky): $56,340 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Kentucky
How to become a CDL Truck Driver in Kentucky? Complete FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Apply through Transportation Cabinet - Division of Driver Licensing.
How long does it take? Most people finish FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Transportation Cabinet - Division of Driver Licensing.
Do I need a license in Kentucky? Yes. Kentucky credentials this role through Transportation Cabinet - Division of Driver Licensing 3. See the licensing section below.
What do CDL truck drivers earn in Kentucky? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Kentucky is $56,340 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,670 and experienced professionals can earn $85,630 or more 1.
How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Kentucky
- Meet age, record, and medical rules. Interstate CDL driving is generally 21 and up; many states allow intrastate CDL at 18. Pass a DOT medical exam from an NRCME examiner.
- Complete FMCSA ELDT. Take Entry-Level Driver Training from a school on the FMCSA Training Provider Registry. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Get a CLP and pass the skills test. Earn a commercial learner’s permit, practice, then pass the skills test at the state driver-license office.
- Receive the CDL and endorsements. The state issues the CDL. Add endorsements the job needs. Confirm current rules with the state DMV, not a parent transportation agency homepage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
CDL Truck Driver License Requirements in Kentucky
CDL truck drivers in Kentucky complete FMCSA ELDT, pass a DOT medical exam, and earn a state-issued CDL. This is a weeks-long path, not a multi-year apprenticeship. See Transportation Cabinet - Division of Driver Licensing 3.
Typical path
Meet age, record, and DOT medical rules.
Complete ELDT on the Training Provider Registry.
Get a CLP and pass the skills test.
Receive the CDL and needed endorsements from the state DMV.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Transportation Cabinet - Division of Driver Licensing before you enroll.
CDL Truck Driver Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers wages in Kentucky vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cincinnati | 13,820 | $60,590 | $63,170 | $45,920 | $81,620 |
| Louisville/Jefferson County | 10,820 | $59,000 | $62,930 | $44,970 | $87,580 |
| Lexington-Fayette | 4,460 | $56,950 | $63,290 | $43,780 | $94,090 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 2,330 | $50,050 | $53,570 | $35,560 | $74,110 |
| Bowling Green | 1,540 | $53,450 | $56,130 | $37,690 | $75,970 |
| Clarksville | 1,380 | $51,470 | $56,810 | $38,670 | $77,640 |
| Owensboro | 840 | $50,600 | $53,970 | $37,490 | $76,630 |
| Paducah | 660 | $50,520 | $55,050 | $38,990 | $74,490 |
| Elizabethtown | 560 | $50,680 | $52,990 | $37,210 | $73,270 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for CDL truck drivers in Kentucky? Kentucky currently employs approximately 31,760 CDL truck drivers 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cdl truck driver in Kentucky with an out-of-state license? Contact the Transportation Cabinet - Division of Driver Licensing for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Kentucky? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Kentucky.
How much do CDL truck drivers earn in Kentucky compared to the national average? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Kentucky is $56,340, which is $1,100 below the national median of $57,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Kentucky
Top local programs
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Ashland, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Bardstown, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Berea, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Bowling Green, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Campbellsville, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Covington, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Danville, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Elizabethtown, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Erlanger, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Florence, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Fort Thomas, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Frankfort, Kentucky (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Kentucky
- Best HVAC Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Kentucky
- Best Plumbing Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Kentucky
Explore More Trades in Kentucky
- Electrician in Kentucky
- Plumber in Kentucky
- HVAC Technician in Kentucky
- Welder in Kentucky
- Carpenter in Kentucky
- Solar Installation Technician in Kentucky
- Auto Mechanic in Kentucky
- CNC Machinist in Kentucky
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Kentucky
- Medical Assistant in Kentucky
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Transportation Cabinet - Division of Driver Licensing - Licensing Information: https://drive.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |