How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Louisiana (2026)
Louisiana employs about 28,540 CDL truck drivers earning a median $49,320 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a CDL Truck Driver here means completing FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years, then applying through Office of Motor Vehicles.
Compare CDL Truck Driver Schools in Louisiana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Southwest Mississippi Community College | 64.8 | Contact school for pricing | $27,408 | 48% | Yes* | 79 mi |
| 2 | Copiah-Lincoln Community College | 63.6 | Contact school for pricing | $36,902 | 51% | Yes* | 94 mi |
| 3 | Diesel Driving Academy-Baton Rouge | 62.5 | Contact school for pricing | $48,134 | 74% | — | 52 mi |
| 4 | Diesel Driving Academy-Shreveport | 61.0 | Contact school for pricing | $45,918 | 76% | — | 158 mi |
| 5 | Hinds Community College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $40,042 | Not reported | Yes* | 118 mi |
| 6 | Lee College | 53.0 | Contact school for pricing | $57,434 | Not reported | — | 211 mi |
| 7 | Meridian Community College | 50.6 | Contact school for pricing | $50,810 | Not reported | Yes* | 202 mi |
| 8 | University of Arkansas at Monticello | 49.8 | $9,292 - $22,519 | $48,735 | 46% | Yes* | 180 mi |
| 9 | Jones County Junior College | 45.6 | Contact school for pricing | $36,340 | Not reported | Yes* | 156 mi |
| 10 | Bishop State Community College | 42.3 | Contact school for pricing | $43,359 | 31% | Yes* | 220 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Louisiana employs approximately 28,540 CDL truck drivers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $49,320 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 237,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CDL Truck Driver in Louisiana, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: ELDT from a Training Provider Registry school (find programs)
- Typical timeline: FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years
- Licensing authority: Office of Motor Vehicles
- Exam: state CDL skills test
- Median wage (Louisiana): $49,320 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Louisiana
How to become a CDL Truck Driver in Louisiana? Complete FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Apply through Office of Motor Vehicles.
How long does it take? Most people finish FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Office of Motor Vehicles.
Do I need a license in Louisiana? Yes. Louisiana credentials this role through Office of Motor Vehicles 3. See the licensing section below.
What do CDL truck drivers earn in Louisiana? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Louisiana is $49,320 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,710 and experienced professionals can earn $68,740 or more 1.
How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Louisiana
- Meet age, record, and medical rules. Interstate CDL driving is generally 21 and up; many states allow intrastate CDL at 18. Pass a DOT medical exam from an NRCME examiner.
- Complete FMCSA ELDT. Take Entry-Level Driver Training from a school on the FMCSA Training Provider Registry. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Get a CLP and pass the skills test. Earn a commercial learner’s permit, practice, then pass the skills test at the state driver-license office.
- Receive the CDL and endorsements. The state issues the CDL. Add endorsements the job needs. Confirm current rules with the state DMV, not a parent transportation agency homepage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
CDL Truck Driver License Requirements in Louisiana
CDL truck drivers in Louisiana complete FMCSA ELDT, pass a DOT medical exam, and earn a state-issued CDL. This is a weeks-long path, not a multi-year apprenticeship. See Office of Motor Vehicles 3.
Typical path
Meet age, record, and DOT medical rules.
Complete ELDT on the Training Provider Registry.
Get a CLP and pass the skills test.
Receive the CDL and needed endorsements from the state DMV.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Office of Motor Vehicles before you enroll.
CDL Truck Driver Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers wages in Louisiana vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baton Rouge | 5,830 | $54,840 | $55,120 | $39,400 | $74,180 |
| New Orleans-Metairie | 5,500 | $51,540 | $53,330 | $37,960 | $73,880 |
| Shreveport-Bossier City | 3,060 | $49,360 | $50,590 | $36,930 | $64,600 |
| Lafayette | 2,920 | $49,450 | $55,190 | $36,730 | $70,570 |
| Houma-Bayou Cane-Thibodaux | 1,460 | $49,300 | $51,470 | $36,740 | $72,700 |
| Lake Charles | 1,340 | $49,960 | $52,000 | $37,210 | $67,780 |
| Monroe | 1,240 | $47,300 | $46,900 | $35,090 | $59,180 |
| Slidell-Mandeville-Covington | 1,040 | $49,410 | $51,760 | $36,060 | $71,900 |
| Hammond | 830 | $48,650 | $50,100 | $36,490 | $63,850 |
| Alexandria | 780 | $47,370 | $48,260 | $35,640 | $65,580 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for CDL truck drivers in Louisiana? Louisiana currently employs approximately 28,540 CDL truck drivers 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cdl truck driver in Louisiana with an out-of-state license? Contact the Office of Motor Vehicles for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Louisiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Louisiana.
How much do CDL truck drivers earn in Louisiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Louisiana is $49,320, which is $8,120 below the national median of $57,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Louisiana
Top local programs
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Abbeville, Louisiana (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Alexandria, Louisiana (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Baker, Louisiana (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Bastrop, Louisiana (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Baton Rouge Metro, Louisiana (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Baton Rouge North, Louisiana (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Baton Rouge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Bogalusa, Louisiana (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Bossier City, Louisiana (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Breaux Bridge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Broussard, Louisiana (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Central, Louisiana (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Louisiana
- Best HVAC Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Louisiana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Louisiana
Explore More Trades in Louisiana
- Electrician in Louisiana
- Plumber in Louisiana
- HVAC Technician in Louisiana
- Welder in Louisiana
- Carpenter in Louisiana
- Solar Installation Technician in Louisiana
- Auto Mechanic in Louisiana
- CNC Machinist in Louisiana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Louisiana
- Medical Assistant in Louisiana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Office of Motor Vehicles - Licensing Information: https://www.sos.la.gov/Pages/default.aspx ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |