How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Massachusetts (2026)
Massachusetts employs about 30,890 CDL truck drivers earning a median $63,030 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a CDL Truck Driver here means completing FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years, then applying through Registry of Motor Vehicles.
Compare CDL Truck Driver Schools in Massachusetts
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | New England Tractor Trailer Training School of Massachusetts | 62.3 | Contact school for pricing | $61,966 | 74% | — | 36 mi |
| 2 | New England Tractor Trailer Training School of Rhode Island | 61.9 | Contact school for pricing | $61,966 | 77% | — | 34 mi |
| 3 | New England Tractor Trailer Training School of CT-Bridgeport | 61.4 | Contact school for pricing | $52,806 | 75% | — | 115 mi |
| 4 | Schuylkill Technology Center | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $53,477 | 60% | — | 263 mi |
| 5 | New England Tractor Trailer Training School of Connecticut | 58.3 | Contact school for pricing | $52,806 | 70% | — | 50 mi |
| 6 | Dawn Career Institute LLC | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $32,884 | Not reported | — | 284 mi |
| 7 | All-State Career School | 41.9 | Contact school for pricing | $48,534 | 49% | — | 258 mi |
| 8 | White Mountains Community College | 41.1 | Contact school for pricing | $60,674 | Not reported | — | 150 mi |
| 9 | Fortis Institute-Forty Fort | 36.5 | Contact school for pricing | $39,004 | 65% | — | 232 mi |
| 10 | Miller-Motte College-Berks Technical Institute | 34.4 | Contact school for pricing | $34,393 | Not reported | — | 266 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Massachusetts employs approximately 30,890 CDL truck drivers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $63,030 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 237,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CDL Truck Driver in Massachusetts, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: ELDT from a Training Provider Registry school (find programs)
- Typical timeline: FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years
- Licensing authority: Registry of Motor Vehicles
- Exam: state CDL skills test
- Median wage (Massachusetts): $63,030 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Massachusetts
How to become a CDL Truck Driver in Massachusetts? Complete FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Apply through Registry of Motor Vehicles.
How long does it take? Most people finish FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Registry of Motor Vehicles.
Do I need a license in Massachusetts? Yes. Massachusetts credentials this role through Registry of Motor Vehicles 3. See the licensing section below.
What do CDL truck drivers earn in Massachusetts? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Massachusetts is $63,030 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $47,080 and experienced professionals can earn $78,480 or more 1.
How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Massachusetts
- Meet age, record, and medical rules. Interstate CDL driving is generally 21 and up; many states allow intrastate CDL at 18. Pass a DOT medical exam from an NRCME examiner.
- Complete FMCSA ELDT. Take Entry-Level Driver Training from a school on the FMCSA Training Provider Registry. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Get a CLP and pass the skills test. Earn a commercial learner’s permit, practice, then pass the skills test at the state driver-license office.
- Receive the CDL and endorsements. The state issues the CDL. Add endorsements the job needs. Confirm current rules with the state DMV, not a parent transportation agency homepage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
CDL Truck Driver License Requirements in Massachusetts
CDL truck drivers in Massachusetts complete FMCSA ELDT, pass a DOT medical exam, and earn a state-issued CDL. This is a weeks-long path, not a multi-year apprenticeship. See Registry of Motor Vehicles 3.
Typical path
Meet age, record, and DOT medical rules.
Complete ELDT on the Training Provider Registry.
Get a CLP and pass the skills test.
Receive the CDL and needed endorsements from the state DMV.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Registry of Motor Vehicles before you enroll.
CDL Truck Driver Wages by Metro Area in Massachusetts
Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers Wages by Metro Area in Massachusetts
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers wages in Massachusetts vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boston-Cambridge-Newton | 20,090 | $64,010 | $64,420 | $47,950 | $78,770 |
| Providence-Warwick | 7,030 | $60,610 | $60,270 | $45,560 | $74,970 |
| Worcester | 4,470 | $61,610 | $62,060 | $45,900 | $77,940 |
| Springfield | 2,400 | $61,420 | $62,030 | $44,980 | $82,520 |
| Barnstable Town | 840 | $62,740 | $63,160 | $47,510 | $76,250 |
| Amherst Town-Northampton | 470 | $61,260 | $60,240 | $46,060 | $73,700 |
| Pittsfield | 400 | $59,330 | $58,520 | $44,340 | $72,330 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for CDL truck drivers in Massachusetts? Massachusetts currently employs approximately 30,890 CDL truck drivers 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cdl truck driver in Massachusetts with an out-of-state license? Contact the Registry of Motor Vehicles for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Massachusetts? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Massachusetts.
How much do CDL truck drivers earn in Massachusetts compared to the national average? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Massachusetts is $63,030, which is $5,590 above the national median of $57,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Massachusetts
Top local programs
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Attleboro, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Beverly, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Boston, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Brockton, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Cambridge, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Chelsea, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Chicopee, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Everett, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Fall River, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Fitchburg, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Gardner, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Gloucester, Massachusetts (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Massachusetts
- Best HVAC Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Massachusetts
- Best Plumbing Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Massachusetts
Explore More Trades in Massachusetts
- Electrician in Massachusetts
- Plumber in Massachusetts
- HVAC Technician in Massachusetts
- Welder in Massachusetts
- Carpenter in Massachusetts
- Solar Installation Technician in Massachusetts
- Auto Mechanic in Massachusetts
- CNC Machinist in Massachusetts
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Massachusetts
- Medical Assistant in Massachusetts
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Registry of Motor Vehicles - Licensing Information: http://www.massrmv.com/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |