How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in North Dakota (2026)
North Dakota employs about 11,870 CDL truck drivers earning a median $60,910 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a CDL Truck Driver here means completing FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years, then applying through North Dakota Department of Transportation - Motor Vehicle Division.
Compare CDL Truck Driver Schools in North Dakota
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Alexandria Technical & Community College | 74.5 | Contact school for pricing | $59,377 | Not reported | Yes* | 236 mi |
| 2 | Miles Community College | 65.0 | $5,818 - $17,452 | $43,022 | 55% | Yes* | 291 mi |
| 3 | Northland Community and Technical College | 63.6 | Contact school for pricing | $54,671 | 52% | Yes* | 177 mi |
| 4 | Turtle Mountain Community College | 61.9 | $2,794 - $13,655 | Not reported | 49% | Yes* | 100 mi |
| 5 | Lake Superior College | 61.0 | $5,785 - $19,723 | $57,665 | 40% | Yes* | 364 mi |
| 6 | Northern Wyoming Community College District | 60.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,958 | Not reported | Yes* | 385 mi |
| 7 | Western Iowa Tech Community College | 57.6 | Contact school for pricing | $47,713 | 44% | Yes* | 379 mi |
| 8 | Sitting Bull College | 53.9 | $4,010 - $10,012 | $39,240 | 23% | Yes* | 98 mi |
| 9 | United Tribes Technical College | 45.6 | $4,632 - $14,309 | $34,923 | 28% | Yes* | 61 mi |
| 10 | Fort Peck Community College | 33.2 | $2,250 - $10,164 | $31,073 | 16% | — | 254 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
North Dakota employs approximately 11,870 CDL truck drivers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $60,910 1. The state’s concentration of cdl truck driver jobs is 2.08x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 237,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CDL Truck Driver in North Dakota, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: ELDT from a Training Provider Registry school (find programs)
- Typical timeline: FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years
- Licensing authority: North Dakota Department of Transportation - Motor Vehicle Division
- Exam: state CDL skills test
- Median wage (North Dakota): $60,910 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in North Dakota
How to become a CDL Truck Driver in North Dakota? Complete FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Apply through North Dakota Department of Transportation - Motor Vehicle Division.
How long does it take? Most people finish FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Confirm current hour totals with the program and North Dakota Department of Transportation - Motor Vehicle Division.
Do I need a license in North Dakota? Yes. North Dakota credentials this role through North Dakota Department of Transportation - Motor Vehicle Division 3. See the licensing section below.
What do CDL truck drivers earn in North Dakota? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in North Dakota is $60,910 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $47,990 and experienced professionals can earn $83,330 or more 1.
How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in North Dakota
- Meet age, record, and medical rules. Interstate CDL driving is generally 21 and up; many states allow intrastate CDL at 18. Pass a DOT medical exam from an NRCME examiner.
- Complete FMCSA ELDT. Take Entry-Level Driver Training from a school on the FMCSA Training Provider Registry. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Get a CLP and pass the skills test. Earn a commercial learner’s permit, practice, then pass the skills test at the state driver-license office.
- Receive the CDL and endorsements. The state issues the CDL. Add endorsements the job needs. Confirm current rules with the state DMV, not a parent transportation agency homepage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
CDL Truck Driver License Requirements in North Dakota
CDL truck drivers in North Dakota complete FMCSA ELDT, pass a DOT medical exam, and earn a state-issued CDL. This is a weeks-long path, not a multi-year apprenticeship. See North Dakota Department of Transportation - Motor Vehicle Division 3.
Typical path
Meet age, record, and DOT medical rules.
Complete ELDT on the Training Provider Registry.
Get a CLP and pass the skills test.
Receive the CDL and needed endorsements from the state DMV.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with North Dakota Department of Transportation - Motor Vehicle Division before you enroll.
CDL Truck Driver Wages by Metro Area in North Dakota
Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers Wages by Metro Area in North Dakota
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers wages in North Dakota vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fargo | 3,570 | $58,900 | $59,770 | $40,870 | $78,350 |
| Grand Forks | 1,100 | $59,360 | $62,160 | $47,440 | $89,870 |
| Bismarck | 1,070 | $62,000 | $67,230 | $48,320 | $95,370 |
| Minot | 880 | $61,030 | $64,690 | $48,480 | $93,060 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for CDL truck drivers in North Dakota? North Dakota currently employs approximately 11,870 CDL truck drivers 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cdl truck driver in North Dakota with an out-of-state license? Contact the North Dakota Department of Transportation - Motor Vehicle Division for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in North Dakota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Dakota.
How much do CDL truck drivers earn in North Dakota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in North Dakota is $60,910, which is $3,470 above the national median of $57,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In North Dakota
Top local programs
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Bismarck, North Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Dickinson, North Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Fargo, North Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Grand Forks, North Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Jamestown, North Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Mandan, North Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Minot, North Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in North Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Wahpeton, North Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in West Fargo, North Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Williston, North Dakota (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in North Dakota (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in North Dakota
- Best HVAC Schools in North Dakota (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in North Dakota
- Best Plumbing Schools in North Dakota (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in North Dakota
Explore More Trades in North Dakota
- Electrician in North Dakota
- Plumber in North Dakota
- HVAC Technician in North Dakota
- Welder in North Dakota
- Carpenter in North Dakota
- Solar Installation Technician in North Dakota
- Auto Mechanic in North Dakota
- CNC Machinist in North Dakota
- Certified Nursing Assistant in North Dakota
- Medical Assistant in North Dakota
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
North Dakota Department of Transportation - Motor Vehicle Division - Licensing Information: http://www.dot.nd.gov/divisions/exec/welcome.htm ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |