How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in South Dakota (2026)
South Dakota employs about 6,470 CDL truck drivers earning a median $58,690 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a CDL Truck Driver here means completing FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years, then applying through South Dakota Department of Public Safety.
Compare CDL Truck Driver Schools in South Dakota
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Alexandria Technical & Community College | 74.5 | Contact school for pricing | $59,377 | Not reported | Yes* | 229 mi |
| 2 | Fort Hays State University-Northwest Kansas Technical College | 66.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 349 mi |
| 3 | Northland Community and Technical College | 63.6 | Contact school for pricing | $54,671 | 52% | Yes* | 317 mi |
| 4 | Turtle Mountain Community College | 61.9 | $2,794 - $13,655 | Not reported | 49% | Yes* | 329 mi |
| 5 | Riverland Community College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,768 | 53% | Yes* | 316 mi |
| 6 | Central Community College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,675 | 46% | Yes* | 225 mi |
| 7 | Cloud County Community College | 59.0 | Contact school for pricing | $45,359 | 51% | Yes* | 324 mi |
| 8 | Western Iowa Tech Community College | 57.6 | Contact school for pricing | $47,713 | 44% | Yes* | 186 mi |
| 9 | Southeast Community College Area | 55.6 | Contact school for pricing | $54,277 | 36% | Yes* | 264 mi |
| 10 | Sitting Bull College | 53.9 | $4,010 - $10,012 | $39,240 | 23% | Yes* | 154 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
South Dakota employs approximately 6,470 CDL truck drivers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $58,690 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 237,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CDL Truck Driver in South Dakota, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: ELDT from a Training Provider Registry school (find programs)
- Typical timeline: FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years
- Licensing authority: South Dakota Department of Public Safety
- Exam: state CDL skills test
- Median wage (South Dakota): $58,690 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in South Dakota
How to become a CDL Truck Driver in South Dakota? Complete FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Apply through South Dakota Department of Public Safety.
How long does it take? Most people finish FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Confirm current hour totals with the program and South Dakota Department of Public Safety.
Do I need a license in South Dakota? Yes. South Dakota credentials this role through South Dakota Department of Public Safety 3. See the licensing section below.
What do CDL truck drivers earn in South Dakota? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in South Dakota is $58,690 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $41,590 and experienced professionals can earn $78,610 or more 1.
How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in South Dakota
- Meet age, record, and medical rules. Interstate CDL driving is generally 21 and up; many states allow intrastate CDL at 18. Pass a DOT medical exam from an NRCME examiner.
- Complete FMCSA ELDT. Take Entry-Level Driver Training from a school on the FMCSA Training Provider Registry. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Get a CLP and pass the skills test. Earn a commercial learner’s permit, practice, then pass the skills test at the state driver-license office.
- Receive the CDL and endorsements. The state issues the CDL. Add endorsements the job needs. Confirm current rules with the state DMV, not a parent transportation agency homepage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
CDL Truck Driver License Requirements in South Dakota
CDL truck drivers in South Dakota complete FMCSA ELDT, pass a DOT medical exam, and earn a state-issued CDL. This is a weeks-long path, not a multi-year apprenticeship. See South Dakota Department of Public Safety 3.
Typical path
Meet age, record, and DOT medical rules.
Complete ELDT on the Training Provider Registry.
Get a CLP and pass the skills test.
Receive the CDL and needed endorsements from the state DMV.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with South Dakota Department of Public Safety before you enroll.
CDL Truck Driver Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota
Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers wages in South Dakota vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sioux City | 2,820 | $51,540 | $55,120 | $38,450 | $79,320 |
| Sioux Falls | 2,540 | $60,820 | $60,270 | $44,730 | $74,630 |
| Rapid City | 740 | $59,110 | $59,750 | $45,120 | $79,890 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for CDL truck drivers in South Dakota? South Dakota currently employs approximately 6,470 CDL truck drivers 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cdl truck driver in South Dakota with an out-of-state license? Contact the South Dakota Department of Public Safety for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in South Dakota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in South Dakota.
How much do CDL truck drivers earn in South Dakota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in South Dakota is $58,690, which is $1,250 above the national median of $57,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In South Dakota
Top local programs
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Aberdeen, South Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Brookings, South Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Huron, South Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Mitchell, South Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Pierre, South Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Rapid City, South Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Sioux Falls, South Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Spearfish, South Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Vermillion, South Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Watertown, South Dakota (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Yankton, South Dakota (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in South Dakota
- Best HVAC Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in South Dakota
- Best Plumbing Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in South Dakota
Explore More Trades in South Dakota
- Electrician in South Dakota
- Plumber in South Dakota
- HVAC Technician in South Dakota
- Welder in South Dakota
- Carpenter in South Dakota
- Solar Installation Technician in South Dakota
- Auto Mechanic in South Dakota
- CNC Machinist in South Dakota
- Certified Nursing Assistant in South Dakota
- Medical Assistant in South Dakota
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
South Dakota Department of Public Safety - Licensing Information: https://dps.sd.gov/driver-licensing/commercial-drivers-license ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |