How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Utah (2026)
Utah employs about 25,060 CDL truck drivers earning a median $60,620 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a CDL Truck Driver here means completing FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years, then applying through Utah Department of Public Safety - Driver License Services.
Compare CDL Truck Driver Schools in Utah
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bridgerland Technical College | 73.8 | Contact school for pricing | $42,070 | Not reported | Yes* | 75 mi |
| 2 | Southwest Technical College | 73.4 | Contact school for pricing | $40,193 | 94% | — | 215 mi |
| 3 | Northern Wyoming Community College District | 60.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,958 | Not reported | Yes* | 383 mi |
| 4 | Uintah Basin Technical College | 59.7 | Contact school for pricing | $64,652 | 89% | — | 110 mi |
| 5 | Mountainland Technical College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $39,284 | 81% | — | 19 mi |
| 6 | Dixie Technical College | 58.7 | Contact school for pricing | $46,064 | 80% | — | 261 mi |
| 7 | Tooele Technical College | 55.2 | Contact school for pricing | $51,524 | 75% | — | 19 mi |
| 8 | San Juan College | 53.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,786 | Not reported | Yes* | 340 mi |
| 9 | Salt Lake Community College | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,279 | 29% | Yes* | 3 mi |
| 10 | Davis Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $47,706 | Not reported | — | 25 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Utah employs approximately 25,060 CDL truck drivers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $60,620 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 237,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CDL Truck Driver in Utah, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: ELDT from a Training Provider Registry school (find programs)
- Typical timeline: FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years
- Licensing authority: Utah Department of Public Safety - Driver License Services
- Exam: state CDL skills test
- Median wage (Utah): $60,620 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Utah
How to become a CDL Truck Driver in Utah? Complete FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Apply through Utah Department of Public Safety - Driver License Services.
How long does it take? Most people finish FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Utah Department of Public Safety - Driver License Services.
Do I need a license in Utah? Yes. Utah credentials this role through Utah Department of Public Safety - Driver License Services 3. See the licensing section below.
What do CDL truck drivers earn in Utah? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Utah is $60,620 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $44,320 and experienced professionals can earn $76,360 or more 1.
How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Utah
- Meet age, record, and medical rules. Interstate CDL driving is generally 21 and up; many states allow intrastate CDL at 18. Pass a DOT medical exam from an NRCME examiner.
- Complete FMCSA ELDT. Take Entry-Level Driver Training from a school on the FMCSA Training Provider Registry. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Get a CLP and pass the skills test. Earn a commercial learner’s permit, practice, then pass the skills test at the state driver-license office.
- Receive the CDL and endorsements. The state issues the CDL. Add endorsements the job needs. Confirm current rules with the state DMV, not a parent transportation agency homepage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
CDL Truck Driver License Requirements in Utah
CDL truck drivers in Utah complete FMCSA ELDT, pass a DOT medical exam, and earn a state-issued CDL. This is a weeks-long path, not a multi-year apprenticeship. See Utah Department of Public Safety - Driver License Services 3.
Typical path
Meet age, record, and DOT medical rules.
Complete ELDT on the Training Provider Registry.
Get a CLP and pass the skills test.
Receive the CDL and needed endorsements from the state DMV.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Utah Department of Public Safety - Driver License Services before you enroll.
CDL Truck Driver Wages by Metro Area in Utah
Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers Wages by Metro Area in Utah
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers wages in Utah vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake City-Murray | 12,340 | $62,310 | $62,500 | $45,840 | $76,910 |
| Ogden | 4,260 | $59,940 | $60,720 | $35,920 | $79,310 |
| Provo-Orem-Lehi | 2,300 | $59,820 | $59,120 | $45,120 | $72,540 |
| St. George | 1,330 | $58,810 | $57,960 | $46,720 | $72,060 |
| Logan | 760 | $57,450 | $56,480 | $43,620 | $74,150 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for CDL truck drivers in Utah? Utah currently employs approximately 25,060 CDL truck drivers 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cdl truck driver in Utah with an out-of-state license? Contact the Utah Department of Public Safety - Driver License Services for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Utah? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Utah.
How much do CDL truck drivers earn in Utah compared to the national average? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Utah is $60,620, which is $3,180 above the national median of $57,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Utah
Top local programs
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Alpine, Utah (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in American Fork, Utah (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Bluffdale, Utah (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Bountiful, Utah (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Brigham City, Utah (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Cedar City, Utah (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Cedar Hills, Utah (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Centerville, Utah (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Clearfield, Utah (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Clinton, Utah (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Cottonwood Heights, Utah (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Draper, Utah (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Utah
- Best HVAC Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Utah
- Best Plumbing Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Utah
Explore More Trades in Utah
- Electrician in Utah
- Plumber in Utah
- HVAC Technician in Utah
- Welder in Utah
- Carpenter in Utah
- Solar Installation Technician in Utah
- Auto Mechanic in Utah
- CNC Machinist in Utah
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Utah
- Medical Assistant in Utah
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Utah Department of Public Safety - Driver License Services - Licensing Information: http://publicsafety.utah.gov/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |