How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Virginia (2026)
Virginia employs about 48,750 CDL truck drivers earning a median $56,860 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a CDL Truck Driver here means completing FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years, then applying through Department of Motor Vehicles.
Compare CDL Truck Driver Schools in Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fred W Eberle Technical Center | 83.4 | Contact school for pricing | $37,621 | 99% | — | 145 mi |
| 2 | James Rumsey Technical Institute | 74.9 | Contact school for pricing | $53,906 | Not reported | — | 156 mi |
| 3 | Johnston Community College | 64.4 | $2,756 - $11,230 | $48,144 | 32% | Yes* | 124 mi |
| 4 | North American Trade Schools | 63.4 | Contact school for pricing | $47,948 | 69% | — | 176 mi |
| 5 | Advanced Technology Institute | 63.1 | $14,568 - $23,713 | $47,728 | 76% | — | 142 mi |
| 6 | Hagerstown Community College | 62.1 | Contact school for pricing | $55,827 | 38% | Yes* | 172 mi |
| 7 | Academy of Careers and Technology | 61.2 | Contact school for pricing | $42,573 | 79% | — | 140 mi |
| 8 | Boone Career and Technical Center | 53.5 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 95% | — | 176 mi |
| 9 | Davidson-Davie Community College | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $44,533 | 44% | Yes* | 128 mi |
| 10 | All-State Career-Baltimore | 35.5 | Contact school for pricing | $40,918 | 57% | — | 180 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Virginia employs approximately 48,750 CDL truck drivers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $56,860 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 237,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CDL Truck Driver in Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: ELDT from a Training Provider Registry school (find programs)
- Typical timeline: FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years
- Licensing authority: Department of Motor Vehicles
- Exam: state CDL skills test
- Median wage (Virginia): $56,860 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Virginia
How to become a CDL Truck Driver in Virginia? Complete FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Apply through Department of Motor Vehicles.
How long does it take? Most people finish FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of Motor Vehicles.
Do I need a license in Virginia? Yes. Virginia credentials this role through Department of Motor Vehicles 3. See the licensing section below.
What do CDL truck drivers earn in Virginia? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Virginia is $56,860 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,180 and experienced professionals can earn $77,040 or more 1.
How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Virginia
- Meet age, record, and medical rules. Interstate CDL driving is generally 21 and up; many states allow intrastate CDL at 18. Pass a DOT medical exam from an NRCME examiner.
- Complete FMCSA ELDT. Take Entry-Level Driver Training from a school on the FMCSA Training Provider Registry. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Get a CLP and pass the skills test. Earn a commercial learner’s permit, practice, then pass the skills test at the state driver-license office.
- Receive the CDL and endorsements. The state issues the CDL. Add endorsements the job needs. Confirm current rules with the state DMV, not a parent transportation agency homepage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
CDL Truck Driver License Requirements in Virginia
CDL truck drivers in Virginia complete FMCSA ELDT, pass a DOT medical exam, and earn a state-issued CDL. This is a weeks-long path, not a multi-year apprenticeship. See Department of Motor Vehicles 3.
Typical path
Meet age, record, and DOT medical rules.
Complete ELDT on the Training Provider Registry.
Get a CLP and pass the skills test.
Receive the CDL and needed endorsements from the state DMV.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of Motor Vehicles before you enroll.
CDL Truck Driver Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers wages in Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 20,430 | $59,820 | $62,330 | $44,870 | $82,540 |
| Richmond | 11,760 | $58,190 | $60,130 | $37,190 | $94,450 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 7,460 | $50,460 | $53,660 | $38,180 | $71,930 |
| Roanoke | 2,760 | $56,430 | $58,040 | $37,700 | $97,050 |
| Kingsport-Bristol | 1,880 | $54,700 | $53,580 | $39,060 | $69,580 |
| Winchester | 1,460 | $57,460 | $58,640 | $39,160 | $76,840 |
| Lynchburg | 1,410 | $55,020 | $55,150 | $37,720 | $71,690 |
| Harrisonburg | 1,290 | $58,660 | $57,520 | $44,150 | $71,920 |
| Staunton-Stuarts Draft | 1,140 | $57,200 | $57,030 | $39,060 | $73,400 |
| Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford | 920 | $53,980 | $57,110 | $37,910 | $76,040 |
| Charlottesville | 630 | $54,970 | $54,080 | $38,540 | $66,180 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for CDL truck drivers in Virginia? Virginia currently employs approximately 48,750 CDL truck drivers 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cdl truck driver in Virginia with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of Motor Vehicles for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Virginia.
How much do CDL truck drivers earn in Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Virginia is $56,860, which is $580 below the national median of $57,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Virginia
Top local programs
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Alexandria, Virginia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Arlington, Virginia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Blacksburg, Virginia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Bristol, Virginia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Charlottesville, Virginia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Chesapeake, Virginia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Christiansburg, Virginia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Colonial Heights, Virginia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Culpeper, Virginia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Danville, Virginia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Fairfax, Virginia (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Falls Church, Virginia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Virginia
Explore More Trades in Virginia
- Electrician in Virginia
- Plumber in Virginia
- HVAC Technician in Virginia
- Welder in Virginia
- Carpenter in Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in Virginia
- CNC Machinist in Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Virginia
- Medical Assistant in Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of Motor Vehicles - Licensing Information: https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/drivers/#applyingcdl.asp ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |