How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Wyoming (2026)
Wyoming employs about 6,050 CDL truck drivers earning a median $60,310 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a CDL Truck Driver here means completing FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years, then applying through DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION.
Compare CDL Truck Driver Schools in Wyoming
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bridgerland Technical College | 73.8 | Contact school for pricing | $42,070 | Not reported | Yes* | 264 mi |
| 2 | Fort Hays State University-Northwest Kansas Technical College | 66.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 338 mi |
| 3 | Miles Community College | 65.0 | $5,818 - $17,452 | $43,022 | 55% | Yes* | 282 mi |
| 4 | Northern Wyoming Community College District | 60.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,958 | Not reported | Yes* | 167 mi |
| 5 | Uintah Basin Technical College | 59.7 | Contact school for pricing | $64,652 | 89% | — | 220 mi |
| 6 | Mountainland Technical College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $39,284 | 81% | — | 298 mi |
| 7 | Tooele Technical College | 55.2 | Contact school for pricing | $51,524 | 75% | — | 314 mi |
| 8 | Salt Lake Community College | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,279 | 29% | Yes* | 293 mi |
| 9 | Davis Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $47,706 | Not reported | — | 282 mi |
| 10 | Highlands College of Montana Tech | 40.9 | Contact school for pricing | $79,369 | 36% | — | 375 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Wyoming employs approximately 6,050 CDL truck drivers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $60,310 1. The state’s concentration of cdl truck driver jobs is 1.63x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 237,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CDL Truck Driver in Wyoming, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: ELDT from a Training Provider Registry school (find programs)
- Typical timeline: FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years
- Licensing authority: DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
- Exam: state CDL skills test
- Median wage (Wyoming): $60,310 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Wyoming
How to become a CDL Truck Driver in Wyoming? Complete FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Apply through DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION.
How long does it take? Most people finish FMCSA ELDT, a DOT medical exam, a CLP, and a state-issued CDL. Training is measured in weeks, not years. Confirm current hour totals with the program and DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION.
Do I need a license in Wyoming? Yes. Wyoming credentials this role through DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 3. See the licensing section below.
What do CDL truck drivers earn in Wyoming? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Wyoming is $60,310 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $45,860 and experienced professionals can earn $84,670 or more 1.
How to Become a CDL Truck Driver in Wyoming
- Meet age, record, and medical rules. Interstate CDL driving is generally 21 and up; many states allow intrastate CDL at 18. Pass a DOT medical exam from an NRCME examiner.
- Complete FMCSA ELDT. Take Entry-Level Driver Training from a school on the FMCSA Training Provider Registry. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Get a CLP and pass the skills test. Earn a commercial learner’s permit, practice, then pass the skills test at the state driver-license office.
- Receive the CDL and endorsements. The state issues the CDL. Add endorsements the job needs. Confirm current rules with the state DMV, not a parent transportation agency homepage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
CDL Truck Driver License Requirements in Wyoming
CDL truck drivers in Wyoming complete FMCSA ELDT, pass a DOT medical exam, and earn a state-issued CDL. This is a weeks-long path, not a multi-year apprenticeship. See DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 3.
Typical path
Meet age, record, and DOT medical rules.
Complete ELDT on the Training Provider Registry.
Get a CLP and pass the skills test.
Receive the CDL and needed endorsements from the state DMV.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION before you enroll.
CDL Truck Driver Wages by Metro Area in Wyoming
Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers Wages by Metro Area in Wyoming
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers wages in Wyoming vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Rapids-Wyoming-Kentwood | 10,820 | $58,270 | $56,990 | $42,840 | $73,740 |
| Cheyenne | 1,060 | $63,540 | $68,250 | $47,600 | $98,710 |
| Casper | 870 | $58,710 | $62,000 | $45,300 | $77,520 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for CDL truck drivers in Wyoming? Wyoming currently employs approximately 6,050 CDL truck drivers 1. Nationally, cdl truck driver employment is projected to grow 4.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cdl truck driver in Wyoming with an out-of-state license? Contact the DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Wyoming? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Wyoming.
How much do CDL truck drivers earn in Wyoming compared to the national average? The median annual wage for CDL truck drivers in Wyoming is $60,310, which is $2,870 above the national median of $57,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Wyoming
Top local programs
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Casper, Wyoming (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Cheyenne, Wyoming (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Evanston, Wyoming (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Gillette, Wyoming (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Green River, Wyoming (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Jackson, Wyoming (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Laramie, Wyoming (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Riverton, Wyoming (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Rock Springs, Wyoming (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Sheridan, Wyoming (2026)
- Best CDL & Trucking Schools in Wyoming (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Wyoming
- Best HVAC Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Wyoming
- Best Plumbing Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Wyoming
Explore More Trades in Wyoming
- Electrician in Wyoming
- Plumber in Wyoming
- HVAC Technician in Wyoming
- Welder in Wyoming
- Carpenter in Wyoming
- Solar Installation Technician in Wyoming
- Auto Mechanic in Wyoming
- CNC Machinist in Wyoming
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Wyoming
- Medical Assistant in Wyoming
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION - Licensing Information: http://www.dot.state.wy.us/home/driver_license_records/commercial-license.html ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |