How to Become a Wedding Planner in Florida (2026)
Florida employs about 10,480 wedding planners earning a median $60,270 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most wedding planners train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Florida.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Florida): $60,270/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Florida: 10,480 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.15x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 4.8% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Wedding Planner Schools in Florida
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gwinnett Technical College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $50,469 | 29% | Yes* | 447 mi |
| 2 | Athens Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,299 | Not reported | Yes* | 436 mi |
| 3 | Georgia Northwestern Technical College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $44,490 | 38% | Yes* | 489 mi |
| 4 | West Georgia Technical College | 51.0 | Contact school for pricing | $43,835 | 33% | Yes* | 457 mi |
| 5 | Ogeechee Technical College | 50.1 | Contact school for pricing | $40,635 | Not reported | Yes* | 314 mi |
| 6 | Atlanta Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $40,964 | 46% | Yes* | 438 mi |
| 7 | Albany Technical College | 46.8 | Contact school for pricing | $37,104 | 38% | Yes* | 300 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Florida employs approximately 10,480 wedding planners according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $60,270 1. Nationally, wedding planner employment is projected to grow 4.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 15,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a wedding planner in Florida, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Wedding Planner Wages by Metro Area in Florida
Meeting, Convention, and Event Planners Wages by Metro Area in Florida
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), meeting, convention, and event planners wages in Florida vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach | 3,240 | $61,260 | $64,730 | $32,780 | $100,150 |
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford | 2,030 | $62,260 | $66,200 | $33,420 | $98,240 |
| Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater | 1,320 | $58,290 | $62,680 | $31,260 | $100,610 |
| Jacksonville | 740 | $58,730 | $62,670 | $33,500 | $96,440 |
| North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota | 350 | $59,850 | $65,170 | $34,860 | $95,110 |
| Naples-Marco Island | 230 | $64,940 | $70,080 | $37,330 | $104,020 |
| Cape Coral-Fort Myers | 220 | $55,510 | $59,380 | $31,280 | $90,410 |
| Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach | 190 | $55,550 | $65,090 | $38,060 | $93,550 |
| Lakeland-Winter Haven | 180 | $53,660 | $58,950 | $32,330 | $86,250 |
| Tallahassee | 160 | $57,560 | $59,580 | $31,300 | $85,430 |
| Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville | 150 | $50,290 | $57,580 | $27,040 | $90,680 |
| Gainesville | 120 | $52,990 | $57,190 | $31,630 | $85,830 |
| Port St. Lucie | 110 | $56,050 | $57,890 | $32,050 | $88,410 |
| Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin | 100 | $51,820 | $59,830 | $33,540 | $90,800 |
| Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent | 100 | $52,460 | $56,170 | $28,460 | $87,680 |
| Ocala | 80 | $52,430 | $56,360 | $34,610 | $79,520 |
| Panama City-Panama City Beach | 60 | $55,080 | $60,390 | $32,290 | $108,540 |
| Punta Gorda | 40 | $56,920 | $64,800 | $28,620 | $120,870 |
| Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor | 40 | $57,190 | $61,260 | $33,010 | $90,340 |
| Wildwood-The Villages | 30 | $35,730 | $46,750 | $28,190 | $76,560 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Florida): $60,270 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Wedding Planner in Florida
How to become a wedding planner in Florida? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for wedding planners in Florida.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do wedding planners earn in Florida? The median annual wage for wedding planners in Florida is $60,270 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $32,930 and experienced professionals can earn $100,470 or more 1.
How to Become a Wedding Planner in Florida
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Florida training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Florida that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to wedding planners in Florida before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for wedding planners in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 10,480 wedding planners 1. Nationally, wedding planner employment is projected to grow 4.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Florida.
How much do wedding planners earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for wedding planners in Florida is $60,270, which is $830 above the national median of $59,440 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Florida
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Florida
- Best HVAC Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Florida
- Best Plumbing Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Florida
Explore More Trades in Florida
- Electrician in Florida
- Plumber in Florida
- HVAC Technician in Florida
- Welder in Florida
- Carpenter in Florida
- Solar Installation Technician in Florida
- Auto Mechanic in Florida
- CNC Machinist in Florida
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Florida
- Medical Assistant in Florida
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |