How to Become a Wedding Planner in Vermont (2026)

Vermont employs about 430 wedding planners earning a median $74,310 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most wedding planners train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Vermont.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Vermont): $74,310/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Vermont: 430 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.55x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 4.8% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Wedding Planner Schools in Vermont

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
169.8Contact school for pricing$57,07233%Yes*270 mi
265.4$8,772 - $26,944$56,92747%Yes*174 mi
363.9Contact school for pricing$51,761Not reportedYes*238 mi
456.4Contact school for pricing$55,056Not reportedYes*95 mi
550.3Contact school for pricing$49,40822%Yes*279 mi
647.9Contact school for pricing$48,96623%Yes*215 mi
747.6Contact school for pricing$50,13021%Yes*172 mi
846.7Contact school for pricingNot reported32%Yes*209 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Vermont employs approximately 430 wedding planners according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $74,310 1. The state’s concentration of wedding planner jobs is 1.55x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, wedding planner employment is projected to grow 4.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 15,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a wedding planner in Vermont, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

Wedding Planner Wages by Metro Area in Vermont

Meeting, Convention, and Event Planners Wages by Metro Area in Vermont

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), meeting, convention, and event planners wages in Vermont vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Burlington-South Burlington170$71,720$74,190$51,790$99,090

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (Vermont): $74,310 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Wedding Planner in Vermont

How to become a wedding planner in Vermont? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for wedding planners in Vermont.

How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do wedding planners earn in Vermont? The median annual wage for wedding planners in Vermont is $74,310 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $50,270 and experienced professionals can earn $89,690 or more 1.

How to Become a Wedding Planner in Vermont

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Vermont training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Vermont that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to wedding planners in Vermont before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for wedding planners in Vermont? Vermont currently employs approximately 430 wedding planners 1. Nationally, wedding planner employment is projected to grow 4.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Vermont? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Vermont.

How much do wedding planners earn in Vermont compared to the national average? The median annual wage for wedding planners in Vermont is $74,310, which is $14,870 above the national median of $59,440 according to BLS data 1.

In Vermont

Explore More Trades in Vermont

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)