How to Become a Welder in Georgia (2026)
Georgia employs about 13,130 welders earning a median $48,430 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most welders train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Compare Welder Schools in Georgia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gwinnett Technical College | 55.0 | $3,524 in-state / $6,092 out-of-state | $50,469 | 32% | Yes* | 24 mi |
| 2 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | $3,516 in-state / $6,084 out-of-state | $47,009 | 58% | Yes* | 35 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Chattahoochee Technical College | 52.1 | $3,540 in-state / $6,108 out-of-state | $45,209 | 38% | Yes* | 16 mi |
| 4 | Lanier Technical College | 51.3 | $3,980 in-state / $7,190 out-of-state | $44,754 | 34% | Yes* | 53 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | West Georgia Technical College | 51.0 | $3,410 in-state / $5,978 out-of-state | $43,835 | 35% | Yes* | 46 mi |
| 6 | Atlanta Technical College | 47.9 | $3,382 in-state / $5,950 out-of-state | $40,964 | 49% | Yes* | 3 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Atlanta | 46.2 | $16,657 | $69,646 | 46% | — | 22 mi |
| 8 | Georgia Piedmont Technical College | 44.5 | $3,386 in-state / $5,954 out-of-state | $46,601 | 44% | Yes* | 9 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Fortis College-Smyrna | 34.9 | $15,543 | $40,980 | 59% | — | 13 mi |
| 10 | Lincoln College of Technology-East Point | 34.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 10 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Georgia employs approximately 13,130 welders according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $48,430 1. Nationally, welder employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 45,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Welder in Georgia, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Georgia): $48,430 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Welder in Georgia
How to become a Welder in Georgia? Georgia does not require a state license for welders, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as AWS Certified Welder (CW) and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? Most paths into the welder field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
Do I need a license in Georgia? No state license is required, but certifications such as AWS Certified Welder (CW) and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification are expected by most employers.
What do welders earn in Georgia? The median annual wage for welders in Georgia is $48,430 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,030 and experienced professionals can earn $65,160 or more 1.
How to Become a Welder in Georgia
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Georgia training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Georgia that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Georgia does not require a statewide license, earn AWS Certified Welder (CW) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Welder Certification Options in Georgia
Georgia does not require a state license to work as a welder. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for welders include:
- AWS Certified Welder (CW)
- OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification
For more information, visit the American Welding Society (AWS) 3. Contact training programs in Georgia for details on certification preparation courses.
Welder Apprenticeship Information in Georgia
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years.
Contact Information:
- Office: Chatham Apprentice Program - StepUp Savannah
- Address: 428 Bull Street, Savannah, GA 31401
- Phone: (912) 232-6747
Welder Wages by Metro Area in Georgia
Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers Wages by Metro Area in Georgia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers wages in Georgia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell | 5,240 | $49,630 | $53,310 | $39,100 | $69,300 |
| Chattanooga | 1,850 | $49,220 | $51,920 | $37,500 | $69,320 |
| Gainesville | 890 | $48,430 | $49,710 | $41,740 | $58,230 |
| Augusta-Richmond County | 680 | $50,800 | $52,940 | $38,520 | $71,010 |
| Savannah | 460 | $56,410 | $54,340 | $38,230 | $67,210 |
| Athens-Clarke County | 370 | $47,970 | $52,140 | $38,170 | $60,190 |
| Warner Robins | 340 | $50,170 | $51,520 | $37,380 | $62,400 |
| Columbus | 330 | $40,100 | $42,370 | $31,650 | $57,020 |
| Macon-Bibb County | 210 | $46,420 | $48,320 | $37,040 | $65,420 |
| Valdosta | 180 | $47,240 | $48,780 | $38,450 | $61,200 |
| Albany | 170 | $47,180 | $50,970 | $37,430 | $74,300 |
| Rome | 160 | $42,280 | $44,900 | $38,310 | $56,960 |
| Dalton | 120 | $47,190 | $47,300 | $35,620 | $58,900 |
| Brunswick-St. Simons | 80 | $48,380 | $50,780 | $38,650 | $61,930 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for welders in Georgia? Georgia currently employs approximately 13,130 welders 1. Nationally, welder employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Georgia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Georgia.
How much do welders earn in Georgia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for welders in Georgia is $48,430, which is $2,570 below the national median of $51,000 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Georgia
Top local programs
- Best Welding Schools in Acworth, Georgia (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Albany, Georgia (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Alpharetta, Georgia (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Americus, Georgia (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Athens, Georgia (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Atlanta, Georgia (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Augusta, Georgia (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Bainbridge, Georgia (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Braselton, Georgia (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Brookhaven, Georgia (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Brunswick, Georgia (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Buford, Georgia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Georgia
- Best HVAC Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Georgia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Alabama
Explore More Trades in Georgia
- Electrician in Georgia
- Plumber in Georgia
- HVAC Technician in Georgia
- Carpenter in Georgia
- Solar Installation Technician in Georgia
- Auto Mechanic in Georgia
- CNC Machinist in Georgia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Georgia
- Medical Assistant in Georgia
- Massage Therapist in Georgia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
American Welding Society (AWS): https://www.aws.org/certification/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |