How to Become a Welder in Maine (2026)
Maine employs about 1,690 welders earning a median $62,220 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most welders train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Compare Welder Schools in Maine
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | New England Institute of Technology | 62.3 | $37,275 | $62,151 | 60% | Yes* | 152 mi |
| 2 | Kennebec Valley Community College | 61.5 | $4,156 in-state / $7,036 out-of-state | $52,079 | 39% | Yes* | 72 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Manchester Community College | 54.0 | $7,090 in-state / $15,340 out-of-state | $44,863 | 41% | Yes* | 76 mi |
| 4 | Eastern Maine Community College | 53.4 | $4,156 in-state / $7,036 out-of-state | $48,024 | 32% | Yes* | 110 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Great Bay Community College | 44.3 | $7,200 in-state / $15,450 out-of-state | $54,407 | 34% | — | 49 mi |
| 6 | White Mountains Community College | 41.1 | $7,050 in-state / $15,300 out-of-state | $60,674 | 62% | — | 74 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Lincoln Technical Institute-East Windsor | 40.4 | Contact school for pricing | $47,136 | 62% | — | 169 mi |
| 8 | Beal University | 37.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 36% | Yes* | 107 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Advanced Welding Institute | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | $51,769 | 91% | — | 153 mi |
| 10 | Technology Learning Center | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 135 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Maine employs approximately 1,690 welders according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $62,220 1. Nationally, welder employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 45,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Welder in Maine, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Maine): $62,220 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Welder in Maine
How to become a Welder in Maine? Maine does not require a state license for welders, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as AWS Certified Welder (CW) and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? Most paths into the welder field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
Do I need a license in Maine? No state license is required, but certifications such as AWS Certified Welder (CW) and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification are expected by most employers.
What do welders earn in Maine? The median annual wage for welders in Maine is $62,220 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $47,230 and experienced professionals can earn $76,220 or more 1.
How to Become a Welder in Maine
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Maine training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Maine that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Maine does not require a statewide license, earn AWS Certified Welder (CW) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Welder Certification Options in Maine
Maine does not require a state license to work as a welder. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for welders include:
- AWS Certified Welder (CW)
- OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification
For more information, visit the American Welding Society (AWS) 3. Contact training programs in Maine for details on certification preparation courses.
Welder Apprenticeship Information in Maine
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Maine’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Maine Apprenticeship Program 4.
Contact Information:
- Office: Maine Department of Labor, Bureau of Employment Services
- Address: 55 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0055
- Phone: (207) 623-7969
- Email: [email protected]
Welder Wages by Metro Area in Maine
Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers Wages by Metro Area in Maine
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers wages in Maine vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Portland-South Portland | 1,060 | $66,420 | $66,410 | $51,880 | $78,830 |
| Bangor | 140 | $50,590 | $56,100 | $43,170 | $70,800 |
| Lewiston-Auburn | 80 | $55,520 | $56,390 | $46,430 | $71,830 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for welders in Maine? Maine currently employs approximately 1,690 welders 1. Nationally, welder employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Maine? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Maine. You can also contact the Maine Apprenticeship Program for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do welders earn in Maine compared to the national average? The median annual wage for welders in Maine is $62,220, which is $11,220 above the national median of $51,000 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Maine
Top local programs
- Best Welding Schools in Auburn, Maine (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Augusta, Maine (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Bangor, Maine (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Biddeford, Maine (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Lewiston, Maine (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Maine (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Portland, Maine (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Saco, Maine (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Sanford, Maine (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in South Portland, Maine (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Waterville, Maine (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Westbrook, Maine (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Maine (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Maine
- Best HVAC Schools in Maine (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Maine
- Best Plumbing Schools in Maine (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in New Hampshire
Explore More Trades in Maine
- Electrician in Maine
- Plumber in Maine
- HVAC Technician in Maine
- Carpenter in Maine
- Solar Installation Technician in Maine
- Auto Mechanic in Maine
- CNC Machinist in Maine
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Maine
- Medical Assistant in Maine
- Massage Therapist in Maine
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
American Welding Society (AWS): https://www.aws.org/certification/ ↩︎
Maine Apprenticeship Program: https://joblink.maine.gov/ada/r/search/jobs?keywords=apprentice ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |