How to Become a Welder in Rhode Island (2026)

Rhode Island employs about 2,300 welders earning a median $50,580 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most welders train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.

Compare Welder Schools in Rhode Island

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Tuition is the published annual figure for the latest reported year and excludes room, board, books and fees. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)Tuition (published, per year)Median grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
171.0Contact school for pricing$54,70194%—143 mi
262.7$6,796 in-state / $11,852 out-of-state$54,71935%Yes*131 mi
Sponsored Ad
362.3$37,275$62,15160%Yes*12 mi
457.9$21,198$72,84558%Yes*64 mi
Sponsored Ad
554.0$7,090 in-state / $15,340 out-of-state$44,86341%Yes*83 mi
647.6$5,338 in-state / $15,596 out-of-state$50,13024%Yes*65 mi
Sponsored Ad
747.5$14,349$46,86345%Yes*101 mi
844.3$7,200 in-state / $15,450 out-of-state$54,40734%—92 mi
Sponsored Ad
940.4Contact school for pricing$47,13662%—61 mi
10Not ratedContact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported—32 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Rhode Island employs approximately 2,300 welders according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $50,580 1. The state’s concentration of welder jobs is 1.71x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, welder employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 45,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Welder in Rhode Island, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Welder in Rhode Island

How to become a Welder in Rhode Island? Rhode Island requires credentials such as Welder. The licensing authority is the RI Department of Labor and Training - Professional Regulation 3. You also need to complete an approved training program or apprenticeship.

How long does it take? Most paths into the welder field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

Do I need a license in Rhode Island? Yes. Rhode Island has licensing or registration requirements for welders. The RI Department of Labor and Training - Professional Regulation oversees licensing 3. See the licensing section below for details.

What do welders earn in Rhode Island? The median annual wage for welders in Rhode Island is $50,580 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $35,560 and experienced professionals can earn $81,000 or more 1.

How to Become a Welder in Rhode Island

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Rhode Island training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Rhode Island that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Earn an industry certification. While Rhode Island does not require a statewide license, earn AWS Certified Welder (CW) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Welder License Requirements in Rhode Island

The RI Department of Labor and Training - Professional Regulation oversees welder licensing in Rhode Island 3.

License Types

LicenseRequirements
WelderWelders use hand welding and flame-cutting equipment to weld together metal components and parts or to cut, trim, or scarf metal objects to dimensions, as specified by layouts, work orders, or bluepri…

License information sourced from CareerOneStop 4.

Welder Apprenticeship Information in Rhode Island

Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Rhode Island’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Rhode Island Office of Apprenticeship 5.

Contact Information:

  • Office: Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training
  • Address: 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-0943
  • Phone: (401) 462-8536
  • Email: [email protected]

Welder Wages by Metro Area in Rhode Island

Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers Wages by Metro Area in Rhode Island

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers wages in Rhode Island vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Providence-Warwick2,490$52,800$58,800$35,580$81,000

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for welders in Rhode Island? Rhode Island currently employs approximately 2,300 welders 1. Nationally, welder employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a welder in Rhode Island with an out-of-state license? Contact the RI Department of Labor and Training - Professional Regulation for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Rhode Island? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Rhode Island. You can also contact the Rhode Island Office of Apprenticeship for apprenticeship opportunities.

How much do welders earn in Rhode Island compared to the national average? The median annual wage for welders in Rhode Island is $50,580, which is $420 below the national median of $51,000 according to BLS data 1.

In Rhode Island

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Rhode Island

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. RI Department of Labor and Training - Professional Regulation - Licensing Information: https://dlt.ri.gov/regulation-and-safety/professional-regulation ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  4. CareerOneStop - Licensed Occupations: https://www.careeronestop.org/Toolkit/Training/find-licenses.aspx ↩︎

  5. Rhode Island Office of Apprenticeship: http://www.dlt.ri.gov/apprenticeship/ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)