How to Become a Welder in Vermont (2026)
Vermont employs about 340 welders earning a median $60,890 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most welders train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Compare Welder Schools in Vermont
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Modern Welding School | 71.0 | Contact school for pricing | $54,701 | 94% | — | 122 mi |
| 2 | Clinton Essex Warren Washington BOCES | 67.0 | Contact school for pricing | $39,772 | 89% | — | 21 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | SUNY College of Technology at Delhi | 65.4 | $8,772 in-state / $12,762 out-of-state | $56,927 | 45% | Yes* | 175 mi |
| 4 | Hudson Valley Community College | 62.7 | $6,796 in-state / $11,852 out-of-state | $54,719 | 35% | Yes* | 125 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Mohawk Valley Community College | 55.3 | $6,218 in-state / $8,851 out-of-state | $45,913 | 38% | Yes* | 139 mi |
| 6 | Manchester Community College | 54.0 | $7,090 in-state / $15,340 out-of-state | $44,863 | 41% | Yes* | 133 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Great Bay Community College | 44.3 | $7,200 in-state / $15,450 out-of-state | $54,407 | 34% | — | 155 mi |
| 8 | White Mountains Community College | 41.1 | $7,050 in-state / $15,300 out-of-state | $60,674 | 62% | — | 101 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Advanced Welding Institute | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | $51,769 | 91% | — | 4 mi |
| 10 | Technology Learning Center | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 176 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Vermont employs approximately 340 welders according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $60,890 1. Nationally, welder employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 45,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Welder in Vermont, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Vermont): $60,890 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Welder in Vermont
How to become a Welder in Vermont? Vermont does not require a state license for welders, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as AWS Certified Welder (CW) and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? Most paths into the welder field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
Do I need a license in Vermont? No state license is required, but certifications such as AWS Certified Welder (CW) and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification are expected by most employers.
What do welders earn in Vermont? The median annual wage for welders in Vermont is $60,890 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $45,650 and experienced professionals can earn $74,870 or more 1.
How to Become a Welder in Vermont
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Vermont training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Vermont that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Vermont does not require a statewide license, earn AWS Certified Welder (CW) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Welder Certification Options in Vermont
Vermont does not require a state license to work as a welder. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for welders include:
- AWS Certified Welder (CW)
- OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification
For more information, visit the American Welding Society (AWS) 3. Contact training programs in Vermont for details on certification preparation courses.
Welder Apprenticeship Information in Vermont
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Vermont’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Vermont Office of Apprenticeship 4.
Contact Information:
- Office: Vermont Department of Labor, Apprenticeship Division
- Address: 5 Green Mountain Drive, Montpelier, VT 05601-0488
- Phone: (802) 828-4000
- Email: [email protected]
Welder Wages by Metro Area in Vermont
Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers Wages by Metro Area in Vermont
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers wages in Vermont vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Burlington-South Burlington | 140 | $63,460 | $64,320 | $48,300 | $78,110 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for welders in Vermont? Vermont currently employs approximately 340 welders 1. Nationally, welder employment is projected to grow 2.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Vermont? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Vermont. You can also contact the Vermont Office of Apprenticeship for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do welders earn in Vermont compared to the national average? The median annual wage for welders in Vermont is $60,890, which is $9,890 above the national median of $51,000 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Vermont
Top local programs
- Best Welding Schools in Barre, Vermont (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Burlington, Vermont (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Essex Junction, Vermont (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Rutland, Vermont (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in South Burlington, Vermont (2026)
- Best Welding Schools in Vermont (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Vermont
- Best HVAC Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Vermont
- Best Plumbing Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Massachusetts
Explore More Trades in Vermont
- Electrician in Vermont
- Plumber in Vermont
- HVAC Technician in Vermont
- Carpenter in Vermont
- Solar Installation Technician in Vermont
- Auto Mechanic in Vermont
- CNC Machinist in Vermont
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Vermont
- Medical Assistant in Vermont
- Massage Therapist in Vermont
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
American Welding Society (AWS): https://www.aws.org/certification/ ↩︎
Vermont Office of Apprenticeship: https://labor.vermont.gov/sites/labor/files/doc_library/list%20Sponsors%20revised%207-19-2019.pdf ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |