How to Become a Woodworker in Alabama (2026)
Alabama employs about 1,760 woodworkers earning a median $38,550 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most woodworkers train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Alabama.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Alabama): $38,550/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Alabama: 1,760 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.68x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -1.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Woodworker Schools in Alabama
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cape Girardeau Career and Technology Center | 59.8 | Contact school for pricing | $53,022 | 77% | — | 346 mi |
| 2 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 148 mi |
| 3 | Central Piedmont Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,441 | Not reported | Yes* | 380 mi |
| 4 | Northwest Shoals Community College | 51.7 | Contact school for pricing | $45,546 | 36% | Yes* | 143 mi |
| 5 | Southern Regional Technical College | 50.2 | Contact school for pricing | $41,871 | 33% | Yes* | 214 mi |
| 6 | Savannah Technical College | 48.8 | Contact school for pricing | $44,293 | Not reported | Yes* | 335 mi |
| 7 | George C Wallace Community College-Dothan | 48.5 | $4,980 - $9,308 | $48,054 | 31% | Yes* | 129 mi |
| 8 | Columbus Technical College | 47.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,818 | 24% | Yes* | 110 mi |
| 9 | Central Georgia Technical College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,979 | 44% | Yes* | 182 mi |
| 10 | East Arkansas Community College | 44.3 | Contact school for pricing | $42,176 | 49% | Yes* | 275 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Alabama employs approximately 1,760 woodworkers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $38,550 1. The state’s concentration of woodworker jobs is 1.68x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 8,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a woodworker in Alabama, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Woodworker Wages by Metro Area in Alabama
Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in Alabama
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters wages in Alabama vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Birmingham | 400 | $39,692 | $41,164 | $30,753 | $52,582 |
| Tuscaloosa | 280 | $37,440 | $38,490 | $30,880 | $48,350 |
| Columbus | 150 | $36,844 | $38,712 | $25,380 | $47,968 |
| Huntsville | 120 | $45,000 | $42,850 | $30,873 | $54,487 |
| Decatur | 120 | $44,360 | $45,660 | $38,290 | $52,000 |
| Montgomery | 100 | $43,720 | $40,770 | $30,480 | $48,320 |
| Daphne-Fairhope-Foley | 90 | $41,967 | $41,530 | $30,480 | $53,853 |
| Auburn-Opelika | 80 | $39,555 | $40,175 | $30,730 | $49,810 |
| Dothan | 70 | $37,410 | $37,680 | $29,220 | $44,780 |
| Mobile | 70 | $37,180 | $40,040 | $27,830 | $48,560 |
| Florence-Muscle Shoals | 50 | $32,540 | $34,550 | $31,270 | $42,790 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Alabama): $38,550 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Woodworker in Alabama
How to become a woodworker in Alabama? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for woodworkers in Alabama.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do woodworkers earn in Alabama? The median annual wage for woodworkers in Alabama is $38,550 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $29,680 and experienced professionals can earn $48,560 or more 1.
How to Become a Woodworker in Alabama
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Alabama training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Alabama that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to woodworkers in Alabama before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for woodworkers in Alabama? Alabama currently employs approximately 1,760 woodworkers 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Alabama? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Alabama.
How much do woodworkers earn in Alabama compared to the national average? The median annual wage for woodworkers in Alabama is $38,550, which is $7,470 below the national median of $46,020 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Alabama
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Alabama (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Alabama
- Best HVAC Schools in Alabama (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Alabama
- Best Plumbing Schools in Alabama (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Alabama
Explore More Trades in Alabama
- Electrician in Alabama
- Plumber in Alabama
- HVAC Technician in Alabama
- Welder in Alabama
- Carpenter in Alabama
- Solar Installation Technician in Alabama
- Auto Mechanic in Alabama
- CNC Machinist in Alabama
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Alabama
- Medical Assistant in Alabama
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |