How to Become a Woodworker in Delaware (2026)

Delaware employs about 60 woodworkers earning a median $60,090 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most woodworkers train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Delaware.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Delaware): $60,090/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Delaware: 60 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.25x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: -1.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Woodworker Schools in Delaware

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
167.0Contact school for pricing$57,788Not reported59 mi
265.4$8,772 - $26,944$56,92747%Yes*202 mi
360.6Contact school for pricing$42,844Not reportedYes*335 mi
460.0$5,683 - $13,963$52,63730%Yes*66 mi
559.5Contact school for pricing$42,51068%83 mi
655.5Contact school for pricing$42,52772%169 mi
753.4$4,156 - $16,791$48,02433%Yes*512 mi
852.6Contact school for pricing$48,441Not reportedYes*409 mi
944.8Contact school for pricingNot reported70%76 mi
1044.3Contact school for pricing$44,764Not reportedYes*356 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Delaware employs approximately 60 woodworkers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $60,090 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 8,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a woodworker in Delaware, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

Woodworker Wages by Metro Area in Delaware

Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in Delaware

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters wages in Delaware vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington1,170$51,348$53,245$38,624$68,232

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (Delaware): $60,090 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Woodworker in Delaware

How to become a woodworker in Delaware? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for woodworkers in Delaware.

How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do woodworkers earn in Delaware? The median annual wage for woodworkers in Delaware is $60,090 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $31,200 and experienced professionals can earn $70,110 or more 1.

How to Become a Woodworker in Delaware

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Delaware training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Delaware that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to woodworkers in Delaware before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for woodworkers in Delaware? Delaware currently employs approximately 60 woodworkers 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Delaware? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Delaware.

How much do woodworkers earn in Delaware compared to the national average? The median annual wage for woodworkers in Delaware is $60,090, which is $14,070 above the national median of $46,020 according to BLS data 1.

In Delaware

Explore More Trades in Delaware

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)