How to Become a Woodworker in District of Columbia (2026)
U.S. employment of woodworkers is projected to change -1.6% from 2024 to 2034 (BLS Employment Projections). Most woodworkers train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in District of Columbia.
Key Facts
- Projected growth: -1.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Woodworker Schools in District of Columbia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology | 67.0 | Contact school for pricing | $57,788 | Not reported | — | 87 mi |
| 2 | SUNY College of Technology at Delhi | 65.4 | $8,772 - $26,944 | $56,927 | 47% | Yes* | 257 mi |
| 3 | Central Carolina Community College | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,844 | Not reported | Yes* | 265 mi |
| 4 | Bucks County Community College | 60.0 | $5,683 - $13,963 | $52,637 | 30% | Yes* | 143 mi |
| 5 | Ocean County Vocational-Technical School | 59.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,510 | 68% | — | 168 mi |
| 6 | Greater Altoona Career & Technology Center | 55.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,527 | 72% | — | 133 mi |
| 7 | Central Piedmont Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,441 | Not reported | Yes* | 330 mi |
| 8 | Savannah Technical College | 48.8 | Contact school for pricing | $44,293 | Not reported | Yes* | 528 mi |
| 9 | Berks Career & Technology Center | 44.8 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 70% | — | 120 mi |
| 10 | Hocking College | 44.3 | Contact school for pricing | $44,764 | Not reported | Yes* | 281 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
District of Columbia offers career opportunities for woodworkers. This page covers how to become a woodworker in District of Columbia, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Woodworker Wages by Metro Area in District of Columbia
Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in District of Columbia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters wages in District of Columbia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 840 | $53,790 | $54,386 | $37,852 | $72,064 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
Quick Answers About How to Become a Woodworker in District of Columbia
How to become a woodworker in District of Columbia? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for woodworkers in District of Columbia.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
How to Become a Woodworker in District of Columbia
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most District of Columbia training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in District of Columbia that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to woodworkers in District of Columbia before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for woodworkers in District of Columbia? Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034 1.
What training programs are available in District of Columbia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in District of Columbia.
Related guides
In District of Columbia
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best HVAC Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in District of Columbia
- Best Plumbing Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in District of Columbia
- Best Welding Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
Explore More Trades in District of Columbia
- Electrician in District of Columbia
- Plumber in District of Columbia
- HVAC Technician in District of Columbia
- Welder in District of Columbia
- Carpenter in District of Columbia
- Solar Installation Technician in District of Columbia
- Auto Mechanic in District of Columbia
- CNC Machinist in District of Columbia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in District of Columbia
- Medical Assistant in District of Columbia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |