How to Become a Woodworker in Florida (2026)
Florida employs about 3,490 woodworkers earning a median $46,360 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most woodworkers train through an approved program before entering the field in Florida.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Florida): $46,360/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Florida: 3,490 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.71x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -1.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Woodworker Schools in Florida
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Central Carolina Community College | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,844 | Not reported | Yes* | 545 mi |
| 2 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 406 mi |
| 3 | Central Piedmont Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,441 | Not reported | Yes* | 510 mi |
| 4 | Northwest Shoals Community College | 51.7 | Contact school for pricing | $45,546 | 36% | Yes* | 596 mi |
| 5 | Southern Regional Technical College | 50.2 | Contact school for pricing | $41,871 | 33% | Yes* | 252 mi |
| 6 | Savannah Technical College | 48.8 | Contact school for pricing | $44,293 | Not reported | Yes* | 289 mi |
| 7 | George C Wallace Community College-Dothan | 48.5 | $4,980 - $9,308 | $48,054 | 31% | Yes* | 334 mi |
| 8 | Columbus Technical College | 47.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,818 | 24% | Yes* | 379 mi |
| 9 | Central Georgia Technical College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,979 | 44% | Yes* | 347 mi |
| 10 | Pinellas Technical College-Clearwater | 43.4 | Contact school for pricing | $41,457 | Not reported | Yes* | 75 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Florida employs approximately 3,490 woodworkers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $46,360 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 8,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Woodworker in Florida, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Florida): $46,360 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Woodworker in Florida
How to become a Woodworker in Florida? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for woodworkers in Florida.
How long does it take? woodworker training length in Florida varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do woodworkers earn in Florida? The median annual wage for woodworkers in Florida is $46,360 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,650 and experienced professionals can earn $61,940 or more 1.
How to Become a Woodworker in Florida
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Florida training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved woodworker program in Florida that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to woodworkers in Florida before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Woodworker Wages by Metro Area in Florida
Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in Florida
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters wages in Florida vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach | 980 | $47,063 | $49,015 | $37,286 | $68,062 |
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford | 570 | $46,586 | $48,063 | $36,787 | $61,848 |
| Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater | 470 | $45,425 | $46,238 | $35,788 | $58,589 |
| Cape Coral-Fort Myers | 280 | $44,880 | $46,470 | $37,950 | $58,150 |
| Jacksonville | 250 | $45,316 | $45,980 | $36,400 | $58,819 |
| North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota | 180 | $46,730 | $48,290 | $37,040 | $61,890 |
| Lakeland-Winter Haven | 130 | $40,372 | $41,152 | $34,044 | $51,377 |
| Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville | 120 | $45,620 | $44,720 | $37,260 | $58,520 |
| Naples-Marco Island | 100 | $47,440 | $51,120 | $36,660 | $74,630 |
| Port St. Lucie | 100 | $39,280 | $43,620 | $37,150 | $56,030 |
| Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent | 90 | $42,070 | $42,820 | $34,770 | $52,800 |
| Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach | 80 | $44,310 | $49,950 | $35,740 | $86,440 |
| Gainesville | 70 | $44,450 | $44,520 | $36,230 | $57,080 |
| Punta Gorda | 50 | $49,090 | $48,490 | $37,080 | $60,870 |
| Tallahassee | 50 | $38,520 | $40,320 | $34,000 | $46,350 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for woodworkers in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 3,490 woodworkers 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.
How much do woodworkers earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for woodworkers in Florida is $46,360, which is $340 above the national median of $46,020 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Florida
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Florida
- Best HVAC Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Florida
- Best Plumbing Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Florida
Explore More Trades in Florida
- Electrician in Florida
- Plumber in Florida
- HVAC Technician in Florida
- Welder in Florida
- Carpenter in Florida
- Solar Installation Technician in Florida
- Auto Mechanic in Florida
- CNC Machinist in Florida
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Florida
- Medical Assistant in Florida
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |