How to Become a Woodworker in Louisiana (2026)

Louisiana employs about 470 woodworkers earning a median $39,280 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most woodworkers train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Louisiana.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Louisiana): $39,280/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Louisiana: 470 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.49x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: -1.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Woodworker Schools in Louisiana

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
159.8Contact school for pricing$53,02277%452 mi
254.5Contact school for pricing$40,07176%381 mi
354.3Contact school for pricing$47,00955%Yes*464 mi
453.0Contact school for pricing$57,434Not reported211 mi
551.7Contact school for pricing$45,54636%Yes*351 mi
650.2Contact school for pricing$41,87133%Yes*462 mi
748.5$4,980 - $9,308$48,05431%Yes*372 mi
847.2Contact school for pricing$43,81824%Yes*414 mi
944.3Contact school for pricing$42,17649%Yes*286 mi
1039.8Contact school for pricing$36,657Not reported466 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Louisiana employs approximately 470 woodworkers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $39,280 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 8,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a woodworker in Louisiana, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

Woodworker Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana

Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters wages in Louisiana vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Baton Rouge230$46,311$44,475$30,037$53,825
Lafayette70$41,600$41,030$30,250$62,400

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (Louisiana): $39,280 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Woodworker in Louisiana

How to become a woodworker in Louisiana? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for woodworkers in Louisiana.

How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do woodworkers earn in Louisiana? The median annual wage for woodworkers in Louisiana is $39,280 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $29,910 and experienced professionals can earn $52,130 or more 1.

How to Become a Woodworker in Louisiana

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Louisiana training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Louisiana that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to woodworkers in Louisiana before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for woodworkers in Louisiana? Louisiana currently employs approximately 470 woodworkers 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Louisiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Louisiana.

How much do woodworkers earn in Louisiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for woodworkers in Louisiana is $39,280, which is $6,740 below the national median of $46,020 according to BLS data 1.

In Louisiana

Explore More Trades in Louisiana

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)