How to Become a Woodworker in North Carolina (2026)

North Carolina employs about 2,900 woodworkers earning a median $46,010 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most woodworkers train through an approved program before entering the field in North Carolina.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (North Carolina): $46,010/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in North Carolina: 2,900 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.18x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: -1.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Woodworker Schools in North Carolina

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
167.0Contact school for pricing$57,788Not reported369 mi
260.6Contact school for pricing$42,844Not reportedYes*34 mi
360.0$5,683 - $13,963$52,63730%Yes*421 mi
455.5Contact school for pricing$42,52772%357 mi
554.3Contact school for pricing$47,00955%Yes*300 mi
652.6Contact school for pricing$48,441Not reportedYes*63 mi
750.2Contact school for pricing$41,87133%Yes*399 mi
848.8Contact school for pricing$44,293Not reportedYes*250 mi
947.2Contact school for pricing$43,81824%Yes*360 mi
1046.5Contact school for pricing$42,97944%Yes*301 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

North Carolina employs approximately 2,900 woodworkers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $46,010 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 8,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Woodworker in North Carolina, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school or community college
  • Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
  • Median wage (North Carolina): $46,010 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Woodworker in North Carolina

How to become a Woodworker in North Carolina? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for woodworkers in North Carolina.

How long does it take? woodworker training length in North Carolina varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.

What do woodworkers earn in North Carolina? The median annual wage for woodworkers in North Carolina is $46,010 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $34,850 and experienced professionals can earn $58,410 or more 1.

How to Become a Woodworker in North Carolina

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most North Carolina training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved woodworker program in North Carolina that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to woodworkers in North Carolina before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Woodworker Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina

Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters wages in North Carolina vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia1,040$45,149$46,107$36,061$57,018
Greensboro-High Point580$41,764$42,456$32,429$50,565
Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton480$41,255$42,015$31,765$53,455
Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk450$45,280$49,686$35,351$69,744
Raleigh-Cary290$47,420$49,190$36,380$65,470
Winston-Salem280$42,990$43,364$32,260$55,500
Durham-Chapel Hill130$43,764$45,929$35,575$57,321
Wilmington100$47,520$47,970$35,050$65,400
Asheville80$45,970$49,550$37,640$63,360
Goldsboro80$35,660$40,780$23,630$59,370
Burlington40$37,090$41,020$35,220$48,320

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for woodworkers in North Carolina? North Carolina currently employs approximately 2,900 woodworkers 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in North Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Carolina.

How much do woodworkers earn in North Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for woodworkers in North Carolina is $46,010, which is $10 below the national median of $46,020 according to BLS data 1.

In North Carolina

Explore More Trades in North Carolina

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)