How to Become a Woodworker in Ohio (2026)

Ohio employs about 3,110 woodworkers earning a median $47,430 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most woodworkers train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Ohio.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Ohio): $47,430/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Ohio: 3,110 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.13x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: -1.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Woodworker Schools in Ohio

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
167.6$5,040 - $16,862$55,85763%Yes*384 mi
267.0Contact school for pricing$57,788Not reported329 mi
366.9$4,819 - $14,583$53,77154%Yes*364 mi
465.4$8,772 - $26,944$56,92747%Yes*400 mi
560.0$5,683 - $13,963$52,63730%Yes*396 mi
659.1Contact school for pricing$55,20728%Yes*385 mi
755.5Contact school for pricing$42,52772%214 mi
852.5$5,184 - $17,359$52,34625%Yes*317 mi
944.8Contact school for pricingNot reported70%341 mi
1044.3Contact school for pricing$44,764Not reportedYes*102 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Ohio employs approximately 3,110 woodworkers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $47,430 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 8,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a woodworker in Ohio, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

Woodworker Wages by Metro Area in Ohio

Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in Ohio

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters wages in Ohio vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Cleveland1,030$50,806$49,057$38,479$56,463
Cincinnati590$47,197$47,327$37,643$58,506
Columbus360$46,853$47,254$36,285$58,945
Dayton-Kettering-Beavercreek160$47,275$47,185$37,918$57,062
Canton-Massillon100$47,838$46,502$36,110$56,996
Akron80$45,425$46,145$36,735$57,375
Youngstown-Warren70$45,460$44,820$33,830$55,260
Toledo50$39,580$42,490$36,690$50,280
Huntington-AshlandN/A$31,510$34,910$24,580$46,110

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (Ohio): $47,430 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Woodworker in Ohio

How to become a woodworker in Ohio? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for woodworkers in Ohio.

How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do woodworkers earn in Ohio? The median annual wage for woodworkers in Ohio is $47,430 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $35,560 and experienced professionals can earn $58,960 or more 1.

How to Become a Woodworker in Ohio

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Ohio training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Ohio that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to woodworkers in Ohio before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for woodworkers in Ohio? Ohio currently employs approximately 3,110 woodworkers 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Ohio? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Ohio.

How much do woodworkers earn in Ohio compared to the national average? The median annual wage for woodworkers in Ohio is $47,430, which is $1,410 above the national median of $46,020 according to BLS data 1.

In Ohio

Explore More Trades in Ohio

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)