How to Become a Woodworker in South Carolina (2026)
South Carolina employs about 710 woodworkers earning a median $47,680 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most woodworkers train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in South Carolina.
Key Facts
- Median wage (South Carolina): $47,680/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in South Carolina: 710 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.62x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -1.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Woodworker Schools in South Carolina
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Central Carolina Community College | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,844 | Not reported | Yes* | 151 mi |
| 2 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 206 mi |
| 3 | Central Piedmont Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,441 | Not reported | Yes* | 103 mi |
| 4 | Northwest Shoals Community College | 51.7 | Contact school for pricing | $45,546 | 36% | Yes* | 402 mi |
| 5 | Southern Regional Technical College | 50.2 | Contact school for pricing | $41,871 | 33% | Yes* | 272 mi |
| 6 | Savannah Technical College | 48.8 | Contact school for pricing | $44,293 | Not reported | Yes* | 120 mi |
| 7 | George C Wallace Community College-Dothan | 48.5 | $4,980 - $9,308 | $48,054 | 31% | Yes* | 321 mi |
| 8 | Columbus Technical College | 47.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,818 | 24% | Yes* | 257 mi |
| 9 | Central Georgia Technical College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,979 | 44% | Yes* | 188 mi |
| 10 | Hocking College | 44.3 | Contact school for pricing | $44,764 | Not reported | Yes* | 403 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
South Carolina employs approximately 710 woodworkers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $47,680 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 8,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a woodworker in South Carolina, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Woodworker Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina
Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters wages in South Carolina vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia | 1,040 | $45,149 | $46,107 | $36,061 | $57,018 |
| Greenville-Anderson-Greer | 260 | $44,042 | $43,994 | $33,332 | $55,240 |
| Charleston-North Charleston | 210 | $46,120 | $47,463 | $34,109 | $59,477 |
| Augusta-Richmond County | 180 | $42,204 | $42,218 | $27,898 | $56,053 |
| Columbia | 140 | $44,890 | $45,090 | $31,000 | $58,345 |
| Florence | 140 | $45,000 | $43,360 | $36,210 | $51,750 |
| Spartanburg | 50 | $36,250 | $35,160 | $27,760 | $45,410 |
| Hilton Head Island-Bluffton-Port Royal | 30 | $51,870 | $51,650 | $31,680 | $63,230 |
| Myrtle Beach-Conway-North Myrtle Beach | 30 | $46,410 | $47,750 | $30,430 | $68,130 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (South Carolina): $47,680 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Woodworker in South Carolina
How to become a woodworker in South Carolina? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for woodworkers in South Carolina.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do woodworkers earn in South Carolina? The median annual wage for woodworkers in South Carolina is $47,680 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $34,320 and experienced professionals can earn $61,350 or more 1.
How to Become a Woodworker in South Carolina
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most South Carolina training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in South Carolina that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to woodworkers in South Carolina before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for woodworkers in South Carolina? South Carolina currently employs approximately 710 woodworkers 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in South Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in South Carolina.
How much do woodworkers earn in South Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for woodworkers in South Carolina is $47,680, which is $1,660 above the national median of $46,020 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In South Carolina
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in South Carolina
- Best HVAC Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in South Carolina
- Best Plumbing Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in South Carolina
Explore More Trades in South Carolina
- Electrician in South Carolina
- Plumber in South Carolina
- HVAC Technician in South Carolina
- Welder in South Carolina
- Carpenter in South Carolina
- Solar Installation Technician in South Carolina
- Auto Mechanic in South Carolina
- CNC Machinist in South Carolina
- Certified Nursing Assistant in South Carolina
- Medical Assistant in South Carolina
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |