How to Become a Woodworker in Virginia (2026)
Virginia employs about 2,170 woodworkers earning a median $45,910 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most woodworkers train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Virginia.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Virginia): $45,910/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Virginia: 2,170 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.06x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -1.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Woodworker Schools in Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology | 67.0 | Contact school for pricing | $57,788 | Not reported | — | 231 mi |
| 2 | SUNY College of Technology at Delhi | 65.4 | $8,772 - $26,944 | $56,927 | 47% | Yes* | 399 mi |
| 3 | Central Carolina Community College | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,844 | Not reported | Yes* | 127 mi |
| 4 | Bucks County Community College | 60.0 | $5,683 - $13,963 | $52,637 | 30% | Yes* | 287 mi |
| 5 | Ocean County Vocational-Technical School | 59.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,510 | 68% | — | 307 mi |
| 6 | Greater Altoona Career & Technology Center | 55.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,527 | 72% | — | 224 mi |
| 7 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 420 mi |
| 8 | Central Piedmont Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,441 | Not reported | Yes* | 186 mi |
| 9 | Savannah Technical College | 48.8 | Contact school for pricing | $44,293 | Not reported | Yes* | 388 mi |
| 10 | Berks Career & Technology Center | 44.8 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 70% | — | 264 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Virginia employs approximately 2,170 woodworkers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $45,910 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 8,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a woodworker in Virginia, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Woodworker Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters wages in Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 840 | $53,790 | $54,386 | $37,852 | $72,064 |
| Richmond | 490 | $42,561 | $43,913 | $33,226 | $54,331 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 450 | $45,280 | $49,686 | $35,351 | $69,744 |
| Roanoke | 150 | $40,626 | $39,318 | $29,114 | $50,488 |
| Harrisonburg | 70 | $45,910 | $45,030 | $33,000 | $54,940 |
| Charlottesville | 60 | $52,640 | $52,870 | $38,580 | $70,880 |
| Lynchburg | 50 | $36,710 | $38,790 | $29,840 | $49,610 |
| Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford | N/A | $47,360 | $44,090 | $34,040 | $47,820 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Virginia): $45,910 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Woodworker in Virginia
How to become a woodworker in Virginia? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for woodworkers in Virginia.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do woodworkers earn in Virginia? The median annual wage for woodworkers in Virginia is $45,910 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $33,280 and experienced professionals can earn $63,800 or more 1.
How to Become a Woodworker in Virginia
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Virginia training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Virginia that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to woodworkers in Virginia before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for woodworkers in Virginia? Virginia currently employs approximately 2,170 woodworkers 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Virginia.
How much do woodworkers earn in Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for woodworkers in Virginia is $45,910, which is $110 below the national median of $46,020 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Virginia
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Virginia
Explore More Trades in Virginia
- Electrician in Virginia
- Plumber in Virginia
- HVAC Technician in Virginia
- Welder in Virginia
- Carpenter in Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in Virginia
- CNC Machinist in Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Virginia
- Medical Assistant in Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |