How to Become a Woodworker in West Virginia (2026)

West Virginia employs about 130 woodworkers earning a median $42,400 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most woodworkers train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in West Virginia.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (West Virginia): $42,400/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in West Virginia: 130 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.38x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: -1.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Woodworker Schools in West Virginia

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
167.0Contact school for pricing$57,788Not reported282 mi
265.4$8,772 - $26,944$56,92747%Yes*416 mi
360.6Contact school for pricing$42,844Not reportedYes*250 mi
460.0$5,683 - $13,963$52,63730%Yes*354 mi
559.5Contact school for pricing$42,51068%389 mi
655.5Contact school for pricing$42,52772%199 mi
754.3Contact school for pricing$47,00955%Yes*410 mi
852.6Contact school for pricing$48,441Not reportedYes*239 mi
944.8Contact school for pricingNot reported70%308 mi
1044.3Contact school for pricing$44,764Not reportedYes*74 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

West Virginia employs approximately 130 woodworkers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $42,400 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 8,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a woodworker in West Virginia, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

Woodworker Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia

Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters wages in West Virginia vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Washington-Arlington-Alexandria840$53,790$54,386$37,852$72,064
Huntington-AshlandN/A$31,510$34,910$24,580$46,110

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (West Virginia): $42,400 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Woodworker in West Virginia

How to become a woodworker in West Virginia? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for woodworkers in West Virginia.

How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do woodworkers earn in West Virginia? The median annual wage for woodworkers in West Virginia is $42,400 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $33,000 and experienced professionals can earn $48,440 or more 1.

How to Become a Woodworker in West Virginia

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most West Virginia training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in West Virginia that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to woodworkers in West Virginia before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for woodworkers in West Virginia? West Virginia currently employs approximately 130 woodworkers 1. Nationally, woodworker employment is projected to grow -1.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in West Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in West Virginia.

How much do woodworkers earn in West Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for woodworkers in West Virginia is $42,400, which is $3,620 below the national median of $46,020 according to BLS data 1.

In West Virginia

Explore More Trades in West Virginia

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)