Best Trade Schools in Cocoa, Florida (2026 Guide)

Here are the best schools in Cocoa. This guide compares accredited programs, nearby options, and Florida licensing steps. If you want a fast path into work, these Cocoa-area schools can help you build skills employers need. Electricians, HVAC techs, welders, and plumbers remain in steady demand across Florida1.


Compare Trade Schools Near Cocoa, Florida

Below are reputable, accredited options in Cocoa and nearby Brevard County. Program lengths are typical ranges. Always confirm current offerings with the school.

We could not confirm enough colleges teaching this subject within range of this location, so the list below shows nearby institutions instead. Confirm with each school that it offers the program before you apply.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 4 schools, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 4 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Eastern Florida State College

Melbourne, FL In-state option BOC Score 63.6
Tuition $2,496 - $11,966
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 51.6%
  • Programs offered: 85
  • Annual completions: 2413
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $49,053 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Academy of Cosmetology

Merritt Island, FL In-state option BOC Score 12.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 38.7%
  • Programs offered: 4
  • Annual completions: 41
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $20,608 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Florida.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
163.6$2,496 - $11,966$49,05352%Yes*In-state
254.1Contact school for pricing$71,478Not reportedIn-state
341.1Contact school for pricingNot reported40%In-state
412.4Contact school for pricing$20,60839%In-state

Schools closest to the main population center in Florida are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Florida is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Annual Wage by Trade - Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville, FL's most-employed trades
Median annual wage by trade in Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville, FL, BLS OEWS May 2025Culinary workers $50220; Medical assistants $38830; Phlebotomy technicians $37450; Nursing assistants $37070; Patient care technicians $37070.Culinary workers$50,220Medical assistants$38,830Phlebotomy technicians$37,450Nursing assistants$37,070Patient care technicians$37,070
Trades ranked by local employment (BLS QCEW); wages are median annual pay (BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; metro area where reported, otherwise statewide).
Median annual wage by trade in Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville, FL
TradeMedian annual wage
Culinary workers$50,220
Medical assistants$38,830
Phlebotomy technicians$37,450
Nursing assistants$37,070
Patient care technicians$37,070
Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Trade Schools in Cocoa, Florida (2026 Guide)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Trade Schools in Cocoa, Florida (2026 Guide) (College Scorecard)Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Orlando $71478; Eastern Florida State College $49053; Academy of Cosmetology $20608.Aviation Institute of Mainte...$71,478Eastern Florida State College$49,053Academy of Cosmetology$20,608
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Trade Schools in Cocoa, Florida (2026 Guide)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Orlando$71,478
Eastern Florida State College$49,053
Academy of Cosmetology$20,608

Cost, Earnings, and Program Length in Cocoa

Among the Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville, FL area’s most-employed trades (BLS QCEW 2024), median annual pay ranges from $37,070 to $50,220 per year (BLS OEWS, May 2025); the chart above compares the five with the largest local workforces. Published tuition across the trade-relevant schools serving Cocoa ranges from $2,496 to $11,966 per year (IPEDS and College Scorecard); schools that do not publish a rate are marked “Contact school for pricing” in the table below. Typical medical assistant training runs 9-12 months (certificate or diploma) (TradeCareerPath program data).

Trade Schools in Nearby Cities

Skilled Trades in Demand

  • Electrician: New construction, space/aerospace facilities, and manufacturing in Brevard create steady demand for skilled electricians. Apprentices build paid experience while completing classroom training. National and state outlooks show continued growth and solid wages1.

  • HVAC/R Technician: Florida’s climate keeps HVAC work busy year-round. Employers look for grads with hands-on lab experience and EPA 608 refrigerant certification. Systems are getting smarter, so controls and troubleshooting skills matter1.

  • Welder: Fabrication, shipbuilding on the coast, and aerospace suppliers need welders who can pass code tests. AWS certifications (D1.1, D17.1) can boost hiring potential and pay1.

  • Plumber/Pipefitter: Residential growth and industrial projects keep plumbers employed. Apprenticeship is the most common entry. Many roles require backflow, medical gas, or OSHA credentials over time1.

Building & Construction Trades

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Flooring Installer9.5%
Plumber4.5%
Welder2.2%
Carpenter4.5%
Construction Worker7.3%

Construction Management & Inspection

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Construction Manager8.7%
Home Inspector-0.8%

Electrical & Energy Systems

Mechanical, Automotive & Transportation

Healthcare: Administration & Office Support

Therapy, Rehab & Fitness

Animal Care & Training

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Veterinary Technician9.1%
Veterinary Assistant8.7%
Dog Trainer5.1%

Beauty & Personal Care

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Esthetician6.7%
Beauty Professional5.6%
Cosmetologist5.6%

Culinary & Hospitality Careers

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Culinary Chef7.1%
Pastry Chef7.1%

Business & Legal Support

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Paralegal0.2%
Bookkeeper-5.8%
Digital Court Reporter-0.3%

Job growth uses state projections when available and national projections (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034) when state data is unavailable. Median pay for each trade is shown in the comparison table above.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Projections (2024-2034). Projected U.S. change shown for each trade.

Licensing Requirements in Florida

Electrician (Florida DBPR Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board):

  • Most electricians start as apprentices or helpers with 4+ years of experience plus classroom training.
  • To run your own business statewide, earn a Certified Electrical Contractor (EC) or Residential (ER) license: verify experience/education, pass the trade and business exams, and provide financial responsibility and insurance documentation.
  • Some local jurisdictions offer journeyman cards. Always check local rules in Brevard County and nearby cities.
  • See our electrician pathway guide: Electrician Careers. Verify requirements with DBPR.

HVAC/R (DBPR Construction Industry Licensing Board):

  • Entry-level techs can work under a licensed contractor. EPA 608 certification is required to handle refrigerants.
  • To contract independently, get a Class A (unlimited) or Class B (≤25 tons cooling) Air Conditioning Contractor license (CAC): meet experience requirements, pass trade and business exams, and provide insurance.
  • Many employers value NCCER credentials and factory training.
  • Learn more: HVAC Careers. Verify with DBPR and EPA 608.

Plumber (DBPR Construction Industry Licensing Board):

  • Start with a registered apprenticeship or entry-level helper role plus classroom training.
  • to work as a state-certified Plumbing Contractor (CFC): document experience, pass exams (trade and business), and show insurance/financial responsibility.
  • Some localities issue journeyman cards; confirm local requirements.
  • Explore the trade: Plumbing Careers. Verify with DBPR.

Welder (Florida):

  • Welding is not state-licensed for most jobs. Employers and projects require code certifications, typically through AWS (e.g., D1.1 structural steel, D17.1 aerospace).
  • Training programs help you test to the right code. Keep your WPS/PQR and continuity logs current.
  • Start here: Welding Careers.

Always confirm the latest rules with Florida DBPR boards, EPA for refrigerants, and local authorities. Requirements can change.

Online & Flexible Options

  • Hybrid training: Many Cocoa-area programs mix online theory with in-person labs. This works for HVAC, electrical, welding safety theory, and medical basics, while keeping hands-on practice on campus or at employer sites.
  • Night and weekend schedules: Public technical colleges and apprenticeship programs often run evening classes so you can work during the day.
  • Accelerated diplomas: Private career schools sometimes offer year-round schedules to help you finish faster.
  • Credit pathways: If you start with a clock-hour program, ask about converting training into college credit toward an AS degree at schools like Eastern Florida State College.

If you need flexibility or financial help, see our guides:

Next Steps

  • Compare Florida programs: Florida Trade School Hub
  • Explore careers and salaries: Trades Hub
  • Shortlist 2-3 schools from the table above. Ask about upcoming start dates, required tools, certifications included (EPA 608, NCCER, AWS), and career help.
  • If you plan to run your own business, review Florida DBPR licensing steps early so your experience and exam timeline stays on track.

Electricians, HVAC techs, welders, and plumbers in Cocoa have strong prospects in 20251. Tour campuses, talk to instructors, and choose the program that fits your schedule and goals.


Outcome figures such as graduation, completion, and job placement rates are reported by schools and by federal data sources, reflect prior student cohorts, and are not a prediction or promise of future results. Individual outcomes may vary.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), Occupational Outlook for construction and installation trades. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)